RSS

Sundays in my City #74 – Father’s Day

05 Sep

Unknown Mami

So it is Father’s Day, let’s think of the perfect way to celebrate adoring children and great fathers.  A long lie in, eventually being woken by excited children bearing delightful home (or school) -made gifts.  After chatting and giggling, all squished in the bed, we wander downstairs, decide we don’t want to make breakfast and instead head out to brunch with friends.  The perfect start to a special day.  Reality on the other hand was far from what was desired.

The morning started off super early, with the sound of the wind howling.  The promise of a sunny and relaxing day was not as likely.  Instead of languishing in bed, I rolled out, threw some clothes on ready to head off to work.  Meanwhile the kids were getting ready to head out to soccer.  Man-child had the pleasure of driving me there and then rushing back to do the soccer run.  I did suggest that they pick up a snack for breakfast, even if it did involve drive through!  After the soccer run, the family joined me at work for a bit.  Not quite your typical way to celebrate Father’s Day.  In fact I was so busy that I didn’t even get a chance to call my own dad a call to wish him a happy Fathers Day.

Instead of photos of my beautiful family, here are a few photos from my day at work, attending a local community festival where the police helicopter landed, much to the delight of everyone there.

A Chopper Up Close

I am sorry that we didn’t get to have a real Father’s Day.  Hopefully we will get to spend a real family day together some time soon.

Head over to Unknown Mami and check out some of the adventures others have had during their Sundays in my City.

 
 

2 responses to “Sundays in my City #74 – Father’s Day

  1. Robyn Engel

    September 6, 2011 at 9:27 am

    Something about helicopters is very exciting. Hoping you had a nice Father’s Day evening with your family.

     
  2. Unknown Mami

    September 7, 2011 at 2:31 pm

    I think a helicopter on Father’s Day is pretty special.

     

Leave a Reply

 
