RSS

And in other news…

27 Jul

It is time to take a break, even if just for a few seconds, from all things Kokoda and to live in the now.

I have been back for just over a week and I have been crazy busy.  I had planned to take a day off work when I returned just to get organised before diving back into work but with the flight cancellations and an overnight delay, my day off became a day in transit and I headed straight back to work bright and early the following morning.  I worked all week and half of the weekend too when in actual fact I should have taken time off to let my ankle recover.  In fact I have come back to truckloads of work and what appears to be a tense and dysfunctional office.  I have so much work to do but today I will spend my day in the meeting of doom to look at where our office is going from here, in a work capacity and also in a physical capacity.  Naturally it won’t be a productive meeting because there are too many emotions involved, where changes are being made without consultation and as a result colleagues will be having tantrums because they aren’t getting what they want.

Sure I know change is good and I am ready to change it up but I was hoping to change up life outside of work, to find new passions elsewhere, I I really love my job as it is.  I don’t mind doing the crazy hours and extra shifts because I love what I am doing and I believe in what I am doing.  It also helps that my current location is convenient for me to get to and I don’t waste hours each day commuting.  If all of that changes, I don’t know how much longer I will want to stick around.

Of course, work stuff aside, things in the house of superRelish are crazier than ever with more activities to be juggled so my week of after school madness now look like this.

Monday – football clinics for the boy and hip-hop for the girl, fortunately at the same location

Tuesday – ice hockey

Wednesday – work late to enable an early finish of a Friday

Thursday – work later and take the girl to soccer training

Friday – circus class for both monsters

Saturday – ice skating

Sunday – soccer match

On top of this I have to squeeze in more physio sessions for the ankle of dodgyness and also make time to do more of the strengthening exercises so my ankle doesn’t dislocate again – big priority!

And here I am thinking that I would find some time to do something for me.  Oh wait I am – uni is back so somehow I have to work out when I will study too!  Luckily man-child had an uber productive weekend and prepared heaps of food to eat for dinners this week so it is one less thing I need to think about.

Whilst I am on a ranty roll – in the excitement of heading to Kokoda, I stuffed up the dates of my work obligations and didn’t buy a ticket to Blogopolis thinking that I would be working.  Well it turns out I am working on Sunday not Saturday so now I have no plans but I also have no ticket.  It looks like I will be having a pity party all of my own, unless of course you know of someone who can’t attend and wants to sell their ticket!

Maybe thinking all these thoughts is what kept me in the land of insomnia last night?  I gave in at 4.40am and checked what time it was, hoping that it was almost time to get up as I knew sleep was far far away.  Now that it is just after 7 and time to think about heading to work I am starting to get tired.  Hopefully everyone in the meeting of doom will be so peeved off that I will be able to either edit photos on the laptop or use Twitter to keep me distracted and entertained.

Now that I have had my rant, I need to be honest – living in the memories of the fun of the jungle is much better than the madness that is my now, excuse me if I just go and hide in some photos for a while longer…

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 27, 2011 in all about me

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “And in other news…

  1. Leiani

    July 27, 2011 at 11:01 am

    Hope the rant made you feel better LOL! Get it off your chest, then just get on with it. Your week is as crazy mine. Gotta love life with kids.

     
  2. FFG

    July 27, 2011 at 11:45 am

    Oh I hate coming back from a trip. Reality can be so harsh especially when you’ve had a break from it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
