RSS

Sundays in my City #67 – Along the Kokoda Track

24 Jul

I have been away from Sunday in my City for a while so now it is time to play catch up.  You see I spent 11 days away, 8 of those days were spent trekking through the jungles of Papua New Guinea, along the Kokoda Track, having the time of my life.

It was just me, my backpack and 42 of my now most favourite people in the world!

Now that I am back in cold cold Melbourne, I keep turning to the collection of photos that I have and imagining that I am there once more.

An hour or 2 into the 110km trek (we took a few detours to take in the sights)

We stopped at Isurava on day 2 of the trek, on the Sunday to pay our respect to all of the soldiers that gave so much so that we could enjoy our freedom.

Paying Tribute

We were supported throughout our journey by some amazing porters from Kokoda.

Wonderful Porters

A place to stop and rest and for a quick snack.

A village in the jungle

There were many, many rivers to cross.

Balancing Act

Many sections of the track were steep and treacherous to climb but oh-so beautiful.

Steep, slippery and painful

After injuring my ankle on day 1, I spent plenty of time with the paramedic having my ankle strapped to prevent further injury.

Medic!

We spend just under 12 hours walking and it was dark before I got into camp so I don’t have any photos of the place I called home on Sunday, I do however have the view from camp of the sunrise the following morning!

Stunning Sunrise

So that is where I was last Sunday, walking between Isurava and Templeton’s Crossing in the jungles of Papua New Guinea.  I have about a billion more photos to sort through, well 600 or so of my own and 4,000 of everyone else’s so I apologies in advance for the Kokoda overload but I do LOVE the experience and want to relive it over and over again, if not for real then through the photos.

Unknown Mami

 Head over to Unknown Mami and check out some of the adventures others have had during their Sundays in my City.

 
 

Tags: , ,

9 responses to “Sundays in my City #67 – Along the Kokoda Track

  1. BLOGitse

    July 24, 2011 at 6:41 pm

    wow, your trekking must have been amazing experience!
    You’re back in Australia and our relatives from Australia arrived this morning to Helsinki 🙂
    Happy Sunday!

     
  2. Mandy

    July 24, 2011 at 9:48 pm

    This is something I’d never have thought about doing, but I have to admit, your stories and photos are making me all warm and fuzzy. I think I really want to get fit over the long term and be someone who is capable of something as amazing as that.

     
  3. Tara R.

    July 24, 2011 at 10:16 pm

    Your adventure looks wonderful! That sunrise is amazing.

     
  4. La Principessa

    July 25, 2011 at 12:34 am

    What amazing photos, looks like an incredible adventure, congratulations.

     
  5. Unknown Mami

    July 25, 2011 at 3:14 am

    Wonderful smiles. I love those boots, they seem to be adjustable. SO glad you had such a wonderful adventure.

     
  6. Rebecca

    July 25, 2011 at 5:50 am

    What courage (and strength) it takes to grab a backpack filled with all you need and just take off into the wilderness. I admire your bravery. And am jealous that I just don’t have it in me, because those photos are beautiful.

     
  7. Leiani

    July 25, 2011 at 10:29 am

    Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful. Seems a piece of your heart is definitely going to be there forever.

     
  8. Robyn Engel

    July 25, 2011 at 12:16 pm

    What an incredible experience. Thanks for posting.

     
  9. Kokoda Maps

    December 22, 2011 at 2:56 am

    Over the past decade the Kokoda Track has become a pilgrimage for Australians of all ages. However, this is no easy stroll. The “Track” is 96km in length, and its elevation ranges from 300m to 2190m above sea level. Located in tropical jungle, the days tend to be hot and humid, and the nights can be bitterly cold.

     

Leave a Reply

 
