RSS

Kokoda, Again

21 Jul

When I went to Kokoda last year, one of my colleagues said in a semi-threatening tone, “This place, it gets under your skin, you won’t be able to stay away for long!”  He was right.  I loved my journey last year and this year it was even more amazing.

The people I trekked with, both from here and from PNG were fun to be around.  Their smiles and the laughter were contagious.

Playing with the local kids

I spent most of my time smiling and laughing, having fun.  Sure the walking was hard but the company and the scenery were so amazing that you don’t notice the sheer physicality of the journey.  We celebrated every step of the way.

A walk through the jungle

It is more than the trek itself, it is also the program that I am a part of.  I have seen first hand the changes in the people involved.  Watching young people mature and grow, becoming aware of a world bigger than their own.

The sense of achievement at completing the track was overwhelming.

Happy to have finished. Sad to leave.

If I am given the opportunity, I will go back, over and over and over again.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 21, 2011 in getting away

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “Kokoda, Again

  1. Leiani

    July 21, 2011 at 11:02 am

    Oh, your post so makes me want to go and do it too!

     
  2. Super Sarah

    July 21, 2011 at 1:30 pm

    Inspirational! Because I am not Australian, I really didn’t understand the meaning and relevance of the Kokoda trail until I moved here. Now I understand so much more and its becoming something that my husband and I are both interested in…. well done you!

     
  3. Ali

    July 21, 2011 at 8:55 pm

    So glad you enjoyed yourself. You look amazing in the photos, kind of lit up. I’d love to see more photos, the jungle there looks so beautiful.

     
  4. FFG

    July 23, 2011 at 2:21 pm

    Sounds amazing!

     

Leave a Reply

 
