RSS

Sundays in my City #65 – A walk in the bush

26 Jun

I have gone from not having any photos to post for Sundays in my City to having way too many.

Unknown Mami

Since my interpretation of Sundays in my City is to highlight a geographical area rather than the actual events of the Sunday, this weeks installment is of the area I explored as a part of my training.  Did I mention that this time in 2 weeks I will actually be on the Kokoda Track again?  I can’t wait!  In the meantime, here are photos from yesterdays training in Werribee Gorge where we hiked for 17km, up and down giant hills, through slushy mud, along rock faces and beside the river.

Starting Out for the Island (the hill in the background is called the Island)

Around and Up, and Up and still more Up

At the Bottom of the Gorge

A resting place for lunch

I really must say that I am so lucky to be able to say that a day spent walking through some amazing bush land with fantastic people can be considered work!

 Head over to Unknown Mami and check out some of the adventures others have had during their Sundays in my City.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on June 26, 2011 in and they call this work, just a day

 

Tags: , , ,

8 responses to “Sundays in my City #65 – A walk in the bush

  1. Robyn Engel

    June 26, 2011 at 5:07 pm

    These are great photos. I especially like the second to last one. It’s spectacular.
    Blessings.
    xoRobyn

     
  2. Wisconsin Keetha

    June 26, 2011 at 9:26 pm

    Wow! I’m impressed.

    That view down into the gorge – – – impressive.

     
  3. sheilaburke

    June 26, 2011 at 10:20 pm

    Awesome place to “work” and a wonderfully relaxing post! VERY nice!

     
  4. Maggie

    June 27, 2011 at 3:59 am

    You’ve inspitred me to play more with shooting into the sun. Gorgeous (and exhausting) hike.

     
  5. joanna jenkins

    June 27, 2011 at 4:44 am

    That looks like some serious hiking– but the sights are gorgeous.
    Cheers, jj

     
  6. Tara R.

    June 27, 2011 at 5:03 am

    That looks like so much fun! Good luck with your training. I especially liked the ‘bottom of the gorge’ shot with the rapids and sun flare. Gorgeous!

     
  7. Unknown Mami

    June 28, 2011 at 6:53 am

    Your interpretation of SIMC is spot on. Beautiful place to train.

     
  8. Kristin - The Goat

    June 28, 2011 at 3:39 pm

    I think I might be able to hike with a big group like that and in a place like that. What a beautiful area – thank you!

     

Leave a Reply

 
