RSS

That’s MY Boy!

20 Jun

My boy, he is a quirky little guy who is currently at school camp.  Last night was when his camp bag was packed, a job he did by himself and then had me check over before he stuffed everything into a backpack.  It really wasn’t a big job and he was happy to do it, he has packed for many camps before, for real camps that involve multiple nights away and in tents.

All ready to be shoved into the backpack

He is my boy, so he is quite thorough (some may say OCD) about things like packing, especially when there is a list to follow.  That said, despite his tendencies to be a little over the top in following rules, he is practical and realistic.  These were a few of the comments that he came downstairs to ask during the packing process;

“Do I need to take soap?  I really don’t see why, I’m not going to use it!”

“Fine, I will at least pack some soap and pretend that I might use it.  Where do we keep it anyway?”

“Mum, it says here that I need 2 pair of underwear plus the ones I am wearing but I don’t wear jocks so should I bother packing them?”

“I don’t think I will take pjs, it is quicker if I just sleep in my clothes and then I am dressed and ready to go in the morning!”

“OK, I will take my pjs, but I won’t promise to wear them!”  He then packs his silk pyjamas!

Ready to Go

The camp is literally just up the road and they are only staying one night.  I kid you not, the time it took to load all the gear and get everyone on the buses the could have walked there!  He sat on the bus, peering out at the window waving to me constantly as he waited and waited and waited for the bus to leave.  When the bus began to drive away he blew me kisses.

Hurry Up Mum, I've Gotta Go!

I love my little man, and I love that he is not too old to blow kisses.

Have a great time at camp.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on June 20, 2011 in all in the family

 

Tags: ,

6 responses to “That’s MY Boy!

  1. Bec

    June 20, 2011 at 11:33 am

    The camp up the road MUST be the Urban Camp. My mum works there 🙂

     
  2. Sandra

    June 20, 2011 at 3:47 pm

    How cute is it that he packed silk pajamas??? really, that’s too cute!

     
  3. PB

    June 20, 2011 at 9:16 pm

    He is so grown up..

    Looking forward to Thursday??? Shared the exicting news with your daughter yet?? Will call you over next couple of days to discuss details..

     
  4. Steff

    June 21, 2011 at 7:06 pm

    Lol he sounds like such a boy I am sure when k goes it will be the opposite wanting to pack lots of toiletries just for one night

     
  5. river

    June 21, 2011 at 8:08 pm

    My grandson travelled by bus to the city, then by bus to the campsite which was in the paddock next to his home….
    School rules, he wasn’t allowed to just walk there.

     

Leave a Reply

 
