RSS

Sunday Selections – Hama Rikyu

19 Jun

I am playing along with FrogPondsRock and here are my Sunday Selections.

My MacBook is on the way out and my time machine is not being user friendly so I am frantically trying to upload photos to Flickr so that I don’t lose another bazillion photos.  I am really enjoying flicking through all of these photos and reliving the memories.

This week my photos are from my time in Japan in 2006 with my BFF Ellen.  We found Hama Rikyu park by accident and loved it, and the amazing entertainer performing there.

Running a Ring on the Rim

Watching the Box Roll

Meeting the Star

The park was once a feudal lord’s residence and has been beautifully maintained.  Walking through the pristine gardens it was easy to forget that we were in Tokyo!

A Park in the City

I loved the park so much that I insisted that we go there again when we were all in Tokyo last year.

Check out all the other awesome Sunday Selections, better still, play along too!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 19, 2011 in getting away

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Sunday Selections – Hama Rikyu

  1. Kim (frog ponds rock)

    June 19, 2011 at 8:32 pm

    I would like to go to Japan one day. Thanks for sharing your photos. I hope you get all your photos safely uploaded. I exported 6Gb to an external hard drive the other day, I was shocked to realise I had so many.

     
  2. Elephant's Child

    June 19, 2011 at 8:54 pm

    That was just so beautiful. And quirky. And unexpected in a big and crowded city. Wow. Thank you.

     
  3. Ellen

    June 20, 2011 at 9:49 am

    STOP IT! I must go back… Can’t stay away for long. Next time I go there with kids, I think I might plan almost a day there to rest, relax and play. xxx

     
    • superrelish

      June 20, 2011 at 10:54 am

      My ideal day, assuming we had plenty of time and had already been too Tsukiji, would be a gentle stroll along the Sumida Gawa toward Asakusa and catch the boat to Hama Rikyu for the day. If I had the energy I would catch the boat to Odaiba, maybe stop at the onsen before catching the monorail to Ginza. Then I would wander around and play ‘if I were rich’ a little longer then walk home.

      If only we were there now.

       

Leave a Reply

 
