RSS

Another Monday

14 Jun

It is Monday on a Tuesday and it just doesn’t seem right.  After a fantastic extra long weekend, the Monday-ness of today is doing my head in.  I guess it has something to do with holiday mode and not being organised.

Last night, just after tucking the kids in and reminding them that there was no lego/uno/arts and craft/movie watching/driving me totally nuts before they were dressed and ready for school and that included being dressed and having blankets put away (or at least out of my sight!).  I planned to head to bed right after they settled but luckily remembered that the school clothes, well they were still in a dirty smelly heap in the hamper.  Instead of climbing into bed, I was off to do the laundry, and watch some tv as I waited.  Laundry done and hung out I climbed into bed, still early enough to get a decent sleep, especially as I turned off my alarm to give myself another holiday from early morning training.

Then comes today, the ‘other’ Monday.  I didn’t want to get out of bed, so I stayed there as long as possible, but was still the first up.  I couldn’t tell if the school clothes were still wet or just freezing to touch so I dragged them inside to strategically place each item over a heater.  The girl’s school lunch bag was still in the machine and totally wet, so I hung it over a heater to dry as I went about getting lunches ready.

Next thing I knew there was mayhem – the lunch bag had fallen to close to the heater and was smoking, the smoke set of the smoke detector (hooray it works!) and the noise woke up the boy!  The bag was salvaged, albeit a little singed along the top and the kids were both up to get ready for school.

Drama number 2 – the breakfast and lunch production line.  Girl-child had requested tomato on sourdough toast for breakfast and sourdough sandwiches for lunch, also with tomato.  I still can’t find the container she takes sliced tomato to school in, but I did find a substitute, so that wasn’t the drama.  The drama was the toast, or at least the bread I was using.  I cooked the toast and tomato and she dug in to her breakfast.  I cooked the boy’s toast (no sourdough for him, plain old multigrain for my boy – only 4 slices today!) and added vegemite before moving onto the lunch production.  That was when I discovered that the sourdough bread was mouldy, or at least the first 6 slices were.  The toast that was made for the girl came from within those same 6 slices so there is a fair chance that she ate mouldy toast for breakfast!  She didn’t complain and she isn’t sick so fingers crossed all will be well.

did manage to get them out of the house to get to school in time and fortunately there hasn’t a third drama, yet.  I am almost certain that the school will call to say one of the monsters is sick or injured so I am crossing my fingers and toes just in case.  In the meantime I am tempted to crawl back into bed and pretend that today doesn’t exist.

 

 
5 Comments

Posted by on June 14, 2011 in just a day

 

Tags: ,

5 responses to “Another Monday

  1. Unknown Mami

    June 14, 2011 at 12:33 pm

    Oh the mold will probably just fortify her immune system. Right?

     
  2. Unknown Mami

    June 14, 2011 at 12:34 pm

    I’m sad because my Gravatar didn’t show up. Let’s see if it does this time.

     
  3. FFG

    June 14, 2011 at 1:35 pm

    Hope things only got better from there…

     
  4. sheila

    June 15, 2011 at 12:24 am

    Ah, drama. lol. I agree with Unknown Mami, lol

    You could enter my giveaway today, it might make you feel better, lol

     
  5. river

    June 15, 2011 at 8:39 pm

    I quite like “Monday” Tuesdays, because it makes the rest of the workng week that much shorter.

     

Leave a Reply

 
