RSS

Sunday Selections – The Fuzzy Wuzzy Angel

29 May

I am playing along with FrogPondsRock and here are my Sunday Selections.

Some of these pics may have been posted somewhere along the way but I thought that today would be a good time to drag them out again.  After an exhausting week and fairly busy weekend, the kids and I had a quiet indoorsy type of afternoon that at one point involved flicking through channels on TV only to find there was nothing to watch.  We did see an ad for a program that we decided we needed to watch ‘In their Footsteps‘.  The show featured a young man who was learning about the journey of his great great uncle in the Kokoda campaign.

For me it was great to get me thinking about the reality of being back there in just over a month but it also gave the kids a little more perspective about where I was going and the significance of that track in the jungle.  The show highlighted a few places I remember fondly from last year including when we stopped at Naduri to meet one of the last Fuzzy Wuzzy Angels.

At Naduri with the Fuzzy Wuzzy

School Supplies for the Kids in Naduri

I have heaps of other photos from Naduri that I love and want to share but wordpress is being a pill and I can’t upload them.  Instead you can check out a few pics from my trip and read about the Fuzzy Wuzzy Angel here.

Check out all the other awesome Sunday Selections, better still, play along too!

 
 

Tags: , ,

5 responses to “Sunday Selections – The Fuzzy Wuzzy Angel

  1. Tat

    May 29, 2011 at 11:21 pm

    Amazing memories. I read the post your linked to and it makes me want to do the trip myself.

     
  2. sheila

    May 30, 2011 at 12:07 am

    WONDERFUL!!!! Thanks for sharing this!

     
  3. carolina

    May 30, 2011 at 1:08 am

    Interesting photos (cute kids) and names: Fuzzy Wuzzy, Naduri, the man in the wheelchair. I haven’t a clue what it is about, but I like it 😉

     
  4. frogpondsrock

    May 31, 2011 at 7:13 pm

    I think that Kokoda is finally starting to get the recognition that it deserves in our Australian mythology. The national service boys that fought in New Guinea saved us from invasion. And the Fuzzy Wuzzy angels saved lots of our boys. Thanks for sharing and allowing me to pay a small homage.

     
  5. river

    June 2, 2011 at 8:45 pm

    I planned on watching In Their Footsteps, but ended up washing the dishes instead.
    Nice photos.

     

Leave a Reply

 
