RSS

Sundays in my City #60 – The Olden Days

22 May

I had a moment of good parenting (or should I say guilt ridden parenting?) on Monday and I attended the kid’s school assembly.  Of course this was after an argument about what was and wasn’t suitable to pass for a school uniform, when girl-child informed me that she was going to be singing in the choir at the school assembly and wanted to wear jeans instead of a skirt.  A compromise was found, she wore something that loosely resembled a school uniform and I went along to the assembly to cheer her on.

As far as assembly goes, it was pretty decent but it was longer than usual, always convenient on a busy work day and the choir sang to celebrate the school’s 130th birthday.  What I did notice when we arrived at school was that many of the students were wearing clothes other than school uniform – they were dressed up like they were going to school in the olden days.  Clearly I missed that note!

Anyway, the motherguilt continued that night when I got home from work late and the kids declared they wanted to wear dress-ups to school for the rest of the week.  I didn’t need a note, it was suggested during assembly so no chance to feign ignorance.  We raided the dress-up box and found an old floral number that has never been worn for girl-child and I made an apron/pinafore for her to wear over the top of it.  Boy-child was happy to wear an old shirt of mine with a vest over the top, a pair of jeans (yep, double standards, he could wear jeans to school but she couldn’t.  In my defence, his were for an approved dress-up day and hers had been blinged!  She did manage to sneakily wear them to school one day but I was too tired to argue and instead I pretended I didn’t notice.) and his dad’s cap.

This is what we came up with.  (Please excuse the red eye, I am sure that was an issue in the olden days too!)

Ready for School in the Olden Days

Naturally they needed props too.

Reading about the Times

Got my keys! (Oh and they did play 2 square in the old days right?)

We had a fantastic Sunday and I hope that you did too.  Head over to Unknown Mami and check out some of the adventures others have had during their Sundays in my City.

Unknown Mami

 
8 Comments

Posted by on May 22, 2011 in all in the family, the monsters

 

Tags: , ,

8 responses to “Sundays in my City #60 – The Olden Days

  1. Wisconsin Keetha

    May 22, 2011 at 10:24 pm

    They look great! I’m really LOVING that key ring prop!

     
  2. Tara R.

    May 22, 2011 at 10:55 pm

    They do look great… very Little House on the Prairie-ish.

     
  3. Life with Kaishon

    May 22, 2011 at 11:30 pm

    Oh my goodness! You are so good. You came up with 2 fantastic costumes in one night? VERY IMPRESSIVE! I have mommy guilt every freaking day. I wish it would leave! I just know my kid is going to have years of therapy because of me.

     
  4. Kristin - The Goat

    May 23, 2011 at 12:52 am

    What fun to dress up as children from days gone by. Looks like fun! I fall asleep at school assemblies. I just can’t help it, even if I’m interested lol

     
  5. Amy

    May 23, 2011 at 5:29 am

    Those area adorable. Great job on the costumes.

     
  6. carol anne

    May 23, 2011 at 7:55 am

    Amazing. I can’t believe you came up with those costumes in one night.

     
  7. sheila

    May 23, 2011 at 10:08 am

    Okay, this is a super cool post! LOVEEEEEEEEEEEE this!

     
  8. Unknown Mami

    May 23, 2011 at 4:08 pm

    They look wonderful! They make me want to dress like that, too.

     

Leave a Reply

 
