RSS

My Lucky Day?

12 May

There are some things in my life that I avoid doing one of those things is having to put petrol in the car.  It started as a paranoia that I would do something wrong, I have heard all of the horror stories and I guess I don’t want to add to them.  I am fortunate enough to have a cousin that drove off with the petrol pump still in the petrol tank of her car, ripping the hose off the petrol thingy entirely.  I may or may not be married to someone who put diesel into a petrol car, I was in the car with a friend who filled her car only to realise that she had left her wallet at home and I generally don’t carry a wallet so I was no help at all.  Essentially, there are far too many things that can go wrong whilst at a service station without adding me to the mix.

I have all sorts of excuses to justify my avoidance.  It used to be that I didn’t want to leave the kids in the car or have to drag them out of the car when they were sleeping.  That doesn’t work so much now the kids are older and not often in the car.  I have used the ‘I didn’t have my wallet with me’ excuse to not fill the car but now that we have a fuel card with this car that excuse doesn’t work either.  Essentially, I am lazy and I don’t like putting petrol into the car so whenever I can avoid it, I do.

Earlier in the week the low fuel light turned on and I dutifully ignored it.  I continued to ignore it hoping that man-child would drive the car in the interim and fulfill his manly duties by filling the car.  It was a great plan but like many great plans, life gets in the way and I wasn’t home from work in time for man-child to use the car to get to basketball and there went my last chance for me to avoid petrol duties.  Today driving from meeting to meeting at work, I checked the fuel remaining gauge (I drive a captive and it predicts how many kms can be driven on the remaining fuel) and it was blank.  That suggests that there is less than 30km of driving left in the tank.  I only had 5km of driving then a little bit of running around but I didn’t know how long it was blank for, I was hoping that I had enough for the drive home but I knew that I would be pushing it with the soccer and netball runs tonight so I had to fill up.  (I did contemplate walking to all activities to negate having to get fuel but it was raining and cold and that just didn’t seem like a great idea.)

Anyway, I am sure that every second person was at the servo waiting to get petrol today.  I had visions of running out of petrol mere metres from the pump and having to push the car the last few metres in the pouring rain.  As luck would have it, I waited and waited and waited but made it to the pump without running out of petrol.  I even managed to fill the car with the appropriate fuel and disconnect the pump before going in to pay.  I had the fuel card and went in to pay and that is when my life changed.  There blocking my path to the registers I needed to go to in order to pay for my petrol was a stand of delicious treats, delicious new treats that I have never seen before but instantly fell in love with, the new Cadbury Twisted.

Goo Greatness

Oh my freaking god, a Cadbury Creme Egg in a bar that is available all year round, could it possibly be true?  I wanted to walk by, I tried to walk by but then I noticed the sign above the display – 2 for $4 and I was trapped.  In my thinking that equates to one for lunch that I didn’t get time to eat a few hours earlier and the other for dinner, how could I refuse?

I couldn’t possibly be so uncouth as to eat the Twisted as I walked back to the car, I had to refrain.  I sat the deliciousness on the passenger seat, planning to eat it in peace and quiet when I got home, to savour what I imagined would be delightful. I tried to ignore it but the temptation was too great.  I had opened the first of the Twisteds as I drove away from the service station.  I would have eaten the second but I had arrived home and if I opened it I may of had to share it and that wouldn’t be any fun, for me!  I had to wait until the kids were in bed (another 3 hours and a game of netball) before I could sneakily eat the second Twisted.

The verdict?  Awesomely awesome.  If it weren’t so cold and still wet out, I would contemplate walking around to the servo and getting more (dessert and supper?), I love it.  I do have to admit I prefer eating the goo in egg form but since I have been deprived of Cadbury Creme Egg goodness since April 24 I am more than happy to eat my goo all twisted!  The texture of the goo is a little gooier and the chocolate not as thick as the shell of a goo egg but overall – I want more deliciousness.

By the way, this is in no way a sponsored post, it is purely my own opinion of the goodness purchased with my own hard earned cash but if someone did want to provide me with more gooey goodness I am more than happy to continue spreading the love of the goo!  Well spreading word of the goo deliciousness, I don’t think I am capable of actually sharing the goo itself.

The moral of this story?  I shall no longer be permitted to put petrol into the car as there will be gooey goodness strategically placed in my path and I am completely incapable of walking by it without overindulging.  Sorry man-child, the job of ensuring there is fuel in the car reverts to you again.  I wouldn’t be at all displeased if you returned with more goodness…

 
4 Comments

Posted by on May 12, 2011 in fantastic food

 

Tags: ,

4 responses to “My Lucky Day?

  1. Suz

    May 12, 2011 at 11:56 pm

    What a find! Gooey deliciousness is needed by everyone 🙂

     
  2. Ali

    May 13, 2011 at 3:07 am

    I never fill the car. I hate it too. It’s pathological. Husband thinks it’s hilarious.
    I like creme eggs but I can only stand one bite. The sugar is too intense. You’ve just managed to find the silver lining in your awful unstoppable weight loss though. You NEED to eat those or else you’d fade away.

     
  3. Bec

    May 14, 2011 at 7:38 am

    You are Darren are like two peas in a pod. I’ve not seen him so excited as when he discovered the twisted creme eggs last week! AND he does a good job of eating chocolate for three meals a day 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
