RSS

Sundays in my City # 58 – Cinco de Mayo

08 May

It is Mother’s Day today but as I am the holder of the camera and not the subject of the photos, I have no Mother’s Day specific photos, not even of the presents, the breakfast in bed or my gorgeous family spending time together at home.  My own mum lives hours away so no photos their either.  Instead I have photos of the fun we had today at a housewarming.

Here in Australia we don’t celebrate Cinco de Mayo but after having an American friend live with us for 8 months recently and for months at a time in previous years we have adopted some of her favourite traditions.  I am a fan of any tradition involving delicious food and fun so today we celebrated a Cinco de Mayo housewarming at her new apartment.

Unknown Mami

The food was amazing but I was too busy eating to take any photos.  I did make sure I found the camera in time for the highlight of the day – the smashing of the chilli pinata that was suspended from the balcony.

Chilli on top

Collecting the chocolate loot

The pinata fun continues!

We had a fantastic Sunday and I hope that you did too.  Head over to Unknown Mami and check out some of the adventures others have had during their Sundays in my City.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on May 8, 2011 in family & friends everywhere

 

Tags: , ,

7 responses to “Sundays in my City # 58 – Cinco de Mayo

  1. Amy

    May 8, 2011 at 10:06 pm

    How fun that you celebrate Cinco de Mayo way over there in Australia.

     
  2. Wisconsin Keetha

    May 8, 2011 at 11:05 pm

    What a fun carrot pinata! There’s a funny commercial here with kids at a birthday party trying to break a pinata in the shape of a small car. It won’t break – – – not even when the dad tries.

    Your carrot was more fun, not only did it break so you could get the goodies, BUT it provided a wonderful hat too!

     
  3. Tara R.

    May 9, 2011 at 1:28 am

    Love the pepper piñata, that’s too funny! It makes a cool hat too.

     
  4. BLOGitse

    May 9, 2011 at 3:22 am

    Thanks, we had a great Sunday as well!
    Had lunch at my mom’s and now we are scrolling like snow balls – too full! 🙂
    Have a good week ahead!

     
  5. Traci

    May 9, 2011 at 5:03 pm

    I think it’s wonderful that you celebrated and what better way than with a pinata? I’m glad you had a wonderful Mother’s Day!

     
  6. Unknown Mami

    May 10, 2011 at 5:24 am

    Piñatas are the best. Hope you had a wonderful Mother’s Day and Happy Be-lated Cinco de Mayo.

     

Leave a Reply

 
