RSS

Making Changes

04 May

I wrote yesterday that life is crazy busy, that there is so much to do, that I just couldn’t possibly fit it all in.  I am really lucky that all of the ‘stuff’ that I have to do is actually ‘stuff’ that I really love.  Work is hardly work when I love what I am doing, sure the extended and erratic hours drive me batshit crazy but it also gives me some flexibility to take days off when I need to or start late every now and then.  Of course the workforce is a volatile place and no job is ever truly secure so with that in mind, I signed up to go to uni.  I love the concept of study and when I find/make time to actually sink my teeth into it, I enjoy what I am learning.  Naturally finding that time is a challenge all of its own!  Then add in training for Kokoda and there go an extra 8 – 12 hours a week that I didn’t really have to begin with but I love the training, I love the program and words simply can’t express my desire need to go back to Papua New Guinea.

So there are the work related activities that fill my days, evenings and weekends but naturally that isn’t it.  Being a mum, of course there are kids activities to ferry the kids to on a regular basis, weekend sport and the odd birthday party as well.  Now all of a sudden the hours have just completely disappeared.  What I was missing was the chance to just hang out; to sit around with the kids and play board games, to go wandering in the park for no reason, to sit under a tree and read a book as the kids explore, to sleep in or to do nothing.

Naturally as all of this was happening, the laundry just kept piling up until it was threatening to just explode everywhere and the kids are left without clothes that even loosely resemble a school uniform.  The floors, well what can I say about them other than ICK!  The bathrooms are relatively new so they weren’t too gross.  The dust bunnies were planning an uprising to take over the house.  The kitchen was clean(ish) but with crap everywhere that just doesn’t have somewhere to live right now.  Another spring clean is needed!  (I did do a St Vinnies run on the weekend and ditched another 8 garbage bags full of toys, books and games that aren’t frequently played with and there is still stuff every where!)

I guess what I am getting at is that there is too much happening right now to do any thing properly and unfortunately it was those that are near and dear to me that were really feeling the brunt of it.  I know when I should be studying I am not pleasant to be around.  I know that instead of studying I will choose to do the laundry or clean out the fridge or re-organise the garage, anything to procrastinate and prolong the agony.  The things that needed to be done – the cooking or the cleaning would be neglected and then I would dwell on the state of the house instead of studying and it was a no win situation.  I wouldn’t actually clean or study, I would simply contemplate a world where the house was clean and the study was done!  Sure I could let the cleaning go and just deal with the mess but that just isn’t who I am.  I need to be in a somewhat organised environment to survive (and yes unfortunately exploding laundry piles and dirty floors are often a part of said environment!)

Anyway, all of that is about to change.  Tomorrow we have a cleaner starting.  For 3 hours there will be someone other than me making sense of the shamozle that I call home.  The dust on the cabinets will disappear, the floors will be cleaned and dare I say it vacuumed and the dust bunnies will have to find a new place to call home.  I am really really looking forward to getting home from work tomorrow, for a few seconds after a meeting and before soccer training and netball, to a clean house!  Of course what am I about to do now?  Go clean up to get ready for the cleaner!  I can’t possibly have her know just how much of a mess this place is in!

What about you?  Do you have someone to help you out so that you can actually enjoy being with your family, (or if you are anything like me, have your family enjoy your company because you aren’t so grouchy about the state of the house!) or are you organised enough to fit everything in and live in a ship-shape house?  And if you do have someone help out, do you clean up before they arrive?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 4, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

One response to “Making Changes

  1. Ali

    May 5, 2011 at 12:34 am

    We don’t have someone to help out but goodness knows we could do with someone. I think it’s something that more and more families are doing. Spending time with your family is the most important thing and I think it’s a great idea to take some of the pressure off of yourself so that you can do that.

    If we did have a cleaner I would most definitely clean up beforehand. The fact is a cleaner isn’t going to know where to put the toys and the piles of general crap but having someone to clean the floors and dust…..bliss. I’m jealous!

     

Leave a Reply

 
