RSS

Forgetting how to blog

03 May

It seems I have forgotten how to blog.  I can do my favourite posts, Sundays in my City with Unknown Mami and Battle of the Blogger Butt Challenge with Michelle at Farmer’s Wifey but other than that, I just don’t know where to begin.  Sometimes I think of the awesome that the day has been but I am too tired to even begin a post.  Other days my day has been so spectacularly crappy that I don’t know where to begin, so I don’t.  Then there are the days that I have so much to say that I don’t know where to begin and I end up saying nothing.  I am sure that I used to find time, make time and just write until I made sense of what was filling up my head and I want need to do it again.

I guess it would be easy to just say life is busy, crazy busy and leave it at that, but I would like to have something that documents at least some of the crazy.  I don’t know why, but it feels important to me to have something written somewhere so that when I wake up one morning in a few years time wondering what I did with my time.  Sure I could just remember it but realistically I can barely remember what I did yesterday let alone what I did last week or even last month, knowing that my memory is hopeless and that if I don’t write something down I will forget all about it.  Sure some things are worth forgetting but I want to be able to remember both the good and the not-so-good knowing that it is all of these things that make me the person that I am and also help to shape the kids into the wonderful people they are.

It would also be nice to have something for the kids to be able to look back on and say ‘Oh, so that was why we didn’t see mum much’, or ‘No wonder mum was always tired and cranky’.  Ideally I would love the kids to one day read through different posts and remember the awesome and say ‘my Mum rocks’, or to remember the fun we had exploring and think ‘I love hanging out with my family’.  Or even just remembering the days we sat at home and played Uno all morning long.

So on that note, I think I am going to try to change the focus of what I do here.  I am not going to be overwhelmed by all the awesome blogs I read and amazing bloggers that I am proud to know.  I am going to go back to basics and write for me, about me and my life.  Sure I will keep on participating in Sundays in my City and Battle of the Blogger Butt Challenge because they have become a part of who I am.  I also want to do more Sunday Selections with FrogPondsRock because then I can highlight photos of fun times that I struggle to remember without a visual prompt.  Other than that though, I don’t really know what to do to get me back into the swing of blogging.  Maybe I will find a few new memes that I can butcher modify to help me get back on track to writing again, who knows?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 3, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Forgetting how to blog

  1. Steff

    May 4, 2011 at 8:33 am

    I am the same I used to pour out my heart any time something was worrying me I did it in thf hospital right after k was born I did it onthe mormning of my wedding. It was something I HAD to do now it’s a chore something I do for the future for the kids and for family who read it the only time I tenc to write for me these days is on sparkpeople
    As always your bloc had me saying “yes yes yes me toooooo”

     
  2. Super Sarah

    May 4, 2011 at 11:34 am

    I can relate, it seems like weeks go by between blog posts for me now which makes me sad. I spend too much time reading other people’s blog posts and not enough time focusing on not only my blog but my photography business and sometimes even my children and my husband. That is going to stop.

     

Leave a Reply

 
