RSS

Sundays in my City # 57 – I am a soccer mum!

02 May

So Sunday in my City was Easter Sunday.

Unknown Mami

Never in a million years did I ever imagine that I would become a soccer mum.  Sure I imagined that at some stage one of the kids would play a team sport and that I would inevitably be the taxi driver that got them to the games but I didn’t really imagine it would happen any time soon.  Well all that has changed, girl-child has joined a sporting team and now I am officially a soccer mum.  What is even more bizarre is that I actually enjoyed it!  Who would have thought watching a bunch of under 9 girls run around a soccer pitch would be interesting let alone enjoyable?  It was pretty serious stuff with each team having a captain, coach, assistant coach, medical person and a manager!  Despite not actually knowing the rules, I was cheering as loud as the other parents in the crowd and loving it.  I don’t imagine that girl-child will ever bend it like Beckham (that is the true extent of my soccer knowledge!) but she did have a great time, and she looked so cute in her oversized uniform!

Bear with me now as we journey into suburbia as I post photos to commemorate girl-child’s first ever soccer match.

Getting Ready

Warming Up

On the 'Bench'

Actually Playing

The scores were 2 – 0 at half time, we were 0.  Somehow we came back and before we knew it the scores were tied.  (Wow – I have already slipped into soccer-mum speak talking about the team as WE, as if I was a part of it!) The final scores were 3 – 3.  An awesome result for a gorgeous little team.

Singing the Team Song

And Rest

I am so proud of my little soccer star player.

Head over to Unknown Mami and check out the adventures of people playing along with Sundays in my City.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on May 2, 2011 in all in the family, just a day

 

Tags: , ,

8 responses to “Sundays in my City # 57 – I am a soccer mum!

  1. PB

    May 2, 2011 at 12:27 am

    being a bit of a past soccer “star” myself i am loving these photos.. Go Milla!!!

    Let us know when the games are played and where. Amelia and I may have to come and cheer her on day.

     
  2. Wisconsin Keetha

    May 2, 2011 at 1:02 am

    I remember watching several of my children play soccer – – – – sometimes it made tears come in my eyes.

     
  3. Tara R.

    May 2, 2011 at 2:25 am

    I love little kid soccer! My daughter has played since she was five and she turns 22 in a couple of months. The circle shot is priceless.

     
  4. lisleman

    May 2, 2011 at 10:10 am

    Great pics – It is fun when they are little and just enjoying the play. IMHO – it loses its appeal when they and especially the parents (who can be much worse) get too serious about it.

     
  5. Emily@TheFrenchHutch

    May 2, 2011 at 10:26 am

    I loved taking my son to all of his sports events while he was growing up. Its special to support and share those times with our children while there’re growing up. You sure have a little cutie there and I know your enjoying the time you spend together.
    Thanks for your kind comment. Hope you’ll come back when its not a tragedy post.

    ~Emily
    The French Hutch

     
  6. Amy

    May 2, 2011 at 5:10 pm

    I think moms are entitled to use the royal we.

    The photos are great. Good job capturing the action.

     
  7. Rene W.

    May 3, 2011 at 2:13 am

    These are great – looks like a fun day!!

     
  8. Unknown Mami

    May 4, 2011 at 3:56 am

    Proud soccer mum!

     

Leave a comment