RSS

Blogger Butts – the good the bad and the ugly, feeling positive again

30 Apr

Well school is back and we have some semblance of a routine happening around here.  Of course it was a short school week (only 3 days of school) so it wasn’t a full exercise week either.  It is however a step in the right direction, I am exercising again.

The GOOD

  • I walked 2 of the 3 school mornings this week (but slept in Friday morning due to an alarm malfunction, oh and I really didn’t feel like getting up early!)  I think I was carrying 10kg in my pack for the walks (about 4km each day)
  • We had to do a baseline fitness test for Kokoda training and it hurt.
  • It started off with a pushup challenge.  I was all set to start and was told that I should do the girl pushups.  All that time earlier in the year doing real pushups and they wanted me to do the girlie ones!  Oh well, who was I to complain?  I totally kicked butt doing 66 pushups!  I probably could have done a few more but my nose started to bleed!
  • Next was a beep test.  I tried my best to avoid doing it but there was nowhere to hide.  Clearly not my favourite activity but being surrounded by young fit people actually got me further than I thought I would.  I stopped at level 6.7 which for my age is on the good-excellent line.  Who knew my fitness was decent?  Go figure.  Of course some of the guys I ran with made it to level 12!
  • This was followed by a 1km timed walk.  I don’t really know what my time was.  I know it wasn’t great but I was able to talk at about a million miles an hour as I walked!
  • We finished up with a plank hold.  Now this is something that I normally avoid at all costs.  The last time I was forced to do one was at a training session for work and I hid and barely made 20 seconds before collapsing in a heap.  This time round?  90 seconds.  I couldn’t believe it.  Clearly the 200 situp challenge has made a difference!
  • Naturally after such a session Wednesday night, I was a little sore on Thursday.  I was actually glad to go for a walk that morning to walk out some of the stiffness.  That day at work involved a little more exercise – a circus session.  Not hard work but the stretches were great.
  • By the time I made it to netball Thursday night, the stiffness had really set in.  I was knackered and had no energy but played anyway, not much running was involved!
  • This morning we had a real training session.  We hiked Mt Macedon a couple of times, about 8km I am told.  I only did about 6km, I had to accompany another guy back to the bus after he hurt his ankle.  Still, 6km on a mountain with a 10kg pack wasn’t a bad morning of exercise.
  • NO Cadbury Creme Eggs were eaten at all this week

The BAD

  • My vow to stop eating chocolate didn’t work but I did cut back, purely by necessity, there are no Easter eggs left!
  • I haven’t been sleeping well but that is another story in itself.
  • I think I have been dehydrated more than normal lately.

The UGLY

  • Blah, blah, food choices, digestive issues and crampy gurgly disgustingness, blah, blah, blah.  Not as bad as usual but still not great.
  • I am stiff from all the training this week and am starting to remember that this will become my new normal, for the next 3 months at least.

My aims for next week

  • To keep on walking.
  • To eat good food more frequently.  Again re-order the organic fruit delivery!
  • To keep on with the official training for Kokoda.
  • After my success with the plank on Wednesday I think I will get back on board with the 200 situps again, perhaps even with the pushups.
Overall, I am feeling pretty stoked about my ability to exercise these day and I am surprising myself.  I like this new, positive feeling, I hope it sticks around a while.

Head over to Farmers Wifey to see what other participants in the Battle of the Bloggers Butts have been up to.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on April 30, 2011 in all about me

 

Tags: , ,

8 responses to “Blogger Butts – the good the bad and the ugly, feeling positive again

  1. Bec

    April 30, 2011 at 11:38 pm

    66 push ups?! You rock, 66 is awesome. I can do 15 girly ones before I collapse in a heap 🙂

     
  2. Farmers Wifey

    May 1, 2011 at 12:00 am

    Well done, don’t worry about the Easter eggs…they’re history! I think I might be dehydrated too..I don’t drink near enough water…..xox

     
  3. Unknown Mami

    May 1, 2011 at 2:22 am

    66 girlie push ups! You are my girlie push up hero.

     
  4. Alannah

    May 1, 2011 at 11:12 am

    not good….absolutely fantastic! WOW, exhausted just reading your exercise this week. Sometimes I wonder how I would feel if I did have a week of good sleep….I guess you may wonder the same. smiles, Alannah

     
  5. Jane

    May 1, 2011 at 4:16 pm

    I am not worthy. You sound like GI Jane to me and you DESERVE chocolate!

     
  6. Me 'N my Monkeys!

    May 1, 2011 at 5:48 pm

    well done with the push ups.. You go girl!! 🙂

    I think we all had ‘bad’ food choices this week.
    Blame easter!! 😛

     
  7. Tracy

    May 3, 2011 at 10:48 pm

    Wow, wow, wow, I’m exhausted reading your exercise! Congratulations on your fitness test – sounds like you totally kicked butt! I agree with Jane – you DESERVE chocolate!

     

Leave a Reply

 
