RSS

Battle of the Blogger Butts – If you can’t say anything nice…

26 Apr

I contemplated going back and doing a post for the Battle of the Blogger Butts Challenge but as I started to draft the post in my head I thought of the old saying ‘If you can’t say anything nice, don’t say anything at all’ and after my less than stellar performance of late (and a week that was even more impressive for all the wrong reasons, I have decided to skip the GOOD, the BAD and the UGLY for this week and instead post about my exercise and food aims for the coming week that will hopefully continue through term 2.

Exercise Goals

  • Morning Run/Walk – I will train every school day.  (This week is only a 3 day school week so it should ease me back into training ‘gently’)  When I began this challenge I was running 5 or 6 days a week but fell off the wagon a while back.  I need to get back on the wagon but my needs have changed.  I don’t need the running fitness that I had, I need strength training.  My morning run will now become a walk and I will walk the 4km with a weighted backpack.  Depending on how much rice I have in the garage will decide the weight I begin with but I hope to build up to 10kg by next week.
  • Official Training – Kokoda training is back this week with a session on Wednesday and this will continue until we set off in 73 days!  That is 10 Wednesday training sessions.  This week we are scheduled to do a beep test.  I HATE the beep test!  Is it wrong that I hope that I end up facilitating this session rather than participating?
  • Hiking – I am heading back to Mt Macedon again this weekend for a 3-4 hour hike and hope to cover about 8-10km up and down the mountain a few times.  I hope my pack is up to 10kg by Saturday.  I will do a similar hike at least once every 2 weeks until Kokoda.
  • Netball is back this week so I will be playing again on Tuesday.
Food Goals
  • I have been eating really badly during the holidays, blaming an overabundance of chocolate in the house, being too busy to cook and generally not feeling hungry at all.  I have had days where all I have eaten is chocolate, blocks of chocolate not just little bars of chocolate.  Well the holidays are over and so is my chocolate cop-out.  I would like to limit myself to one piece a day but I think the temptation to keep on eating will be too much (I admit, I have no self control) so I will try to eat only the chocolate a colleague feeds me at work.
  • I will change my mantra from ‘chocolate is the only food group’ to ‘chocolate is a treat; a small, only sometimes treat’.
  • I will find time to make real meals for myself.  The kids are always fed well but with me not eating gluten means that I don’t always make ‘special’ food for me.
Despite my appalling food habits I have somehow managed to lose more weight.  (Please don’t hate me!)  I don’t actually own any scales so I only weigh myself when I go to visit my parents and I have lost 1/2kg since last visit.  That isn’t too bad but it means I have lost more than 15kg since August when I have been following the diet of a compulsive chocolate eater.  I am back at my pre-kids weight (not shape) and am happy to be at this weight but I can’t afford to lose any more weight.  My weight loss has been anything but healthy, it has been as a result of some parasite infestation!  I need to eat properly to see what happens to my weight then to see if it will stabilise – I need to be able to maintain this weight in order to get a medical clearance to go back to Kokoda!  I am still waiting for more tests to be scheduled but the joys of the public health system means that I have no idea when they will be.  I am sure that my funky gut is just a new normal for me, but nothing can be confirmed until then so I keep on waiting.
Anyway, that is my long winded plan for this week.  If I add a regular dose of sleep to that, I think I will be in great shape and will get my medical clearance soon.  Head over to Farmers Wifey to see how everyone else held up over Easter.
 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 26, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “Battle of the Blogger Butts – If you can’t say anything nice…

  1. Star Traci

    April 27, 2011 at 1:57 am

    Good for you. I keep saying that I will work out on the days that both of my kids are in school (3 days a week). But it seems after I get them to school, start dishes and laundry, I have lost all momentum.

    Sorry about the parasite — that’s awful. I hope you are feeling 100% ASAP!
    🙂
    Traci

     
  2. FFG

    April 27, 2011 at 2:26 am

    I must admit that I wish that my chocolate binges wouldn’t negatively affect my weight, but I guess I don’t want that to happen the hard way. Hope you get everything figured out.

     
  3. Farmers Wifey

    April 29, 2011 at 11:54 pm

    Well I think you sound extremely organised…keep up the good work..I could learn alot from you!!!!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
