RSS

I am not ready but I’m too tired to think

17 Mar

It seems like merely weeks ago that I was sitting here, during one of the football grand finals chatting to Kimberly and trying to convince her that she should come to Sydney and hang out with a group of amazing bloggers.  Essentially I was feeling chicken-sh*t but really wanted to go, to be a part of the Aussie Bloggers Conference right from the beginning.  It was the last day of early bird registrations so she really had to decide then and there.  I had my laptop there, fired up and ready to go.  As soon as she was leaning towards saying yes, I started filling in the registration details.  As soon as I had the go-ahead, I hit the button to register and there was no backing out.

Well that was essentially months ago and like all things that one books well in advance, you seem to think that you have forever to get organised so you put things off.  Well forever away is almost here.  Forever is actually tomorrow.  In actual fact in 12 hours I will be sitting with Kimberley on board our flight to Sydney.  Hey did I mention that Kimberley is in fact Kimberley of Pop Couture and she is speaking on one of the panels!  She is excited and freaking out so show her heaps of love.  Aside from that, I am claiming fame by association!  Any way, I digress, clearly I am tired and not functioning properly.  Back to my lack of preparedness for the weekend away…

Last week I wrote a list of all the things that needed to be done to prepare for the ‘big event’ and included the things that I was freaking out about and the things that would get in the way of actually achieving this.  Well it is a week later and I can say that I am over freaking out, now I am too tired to really care.  I have attempted to rectify the hair situation.  The grey and white stripes that needed re-rooting have been re-rooted.  Of course the last dye I used was brown/black and this one is red so now I have red roots but hey, it isn’t skunk-like so that is OK.  The huge fuzzy caterpillars are still living on my forehead, perhaps I will get time to tame them tomorrow.  I think if I tried now I would probably end up with no eyebrows and that would probably be a little scarier than the caterpillars!

As for packing, well I am done but I’m not sure that I have packed anything appropriate.  I am now aware that I officially own no pants or thigh covering shorts that fit me AT ALL, so I am going to Sydney as an alternative me, a me that now wears dresses because they still fit!  Since I am going as the alternate me, I am going for colour.  That said I am from Melbourne so I have packed one black based outfit!  I am pretty sure that I have overpacked but it was just too hard to even think about what I would need so stuff just got thrown into my carry on bag.

As for the rest of the week?  It was a rollercoaster again.  The awesome bits were really awesome, especially going to see Mary Poppins last weekend, but the rest well if I could ask for a refund I would.  Work and work related issues were really challenging and the hours were nuts.  The kids have been hyper (I was thinking that eating organic produce would calm them, wishful thinking!) or maybe I have been too tired and busy to give them the time and energy they deserve.  There has been a death in the extended family and that has stirred up a whole world of ugly that is just waiting to explode all over.  To top it off, I am feeling a little sorry for myself.  I have a waterproof bandage on my neck hiding a dozen or so stitches from a surgery today.  The surgery itself didn’t hurt and was over in less than 15 minutes and that included the preparation.  I have to say I was kind of disappointed that I couldn’t actually see what was happening.  I did get to see the marble sized blob that was removed but I forgot to take a photo, but that is OK, that would be an overshare.

Before I ramble on too much more,  I really should find some ear plugs and crawl in to bed to get some sleep.  I am really looking forward to an awesome weekend with fantastic people but if I don’t get any sleep tonight I am likely to be a grumpy old troll and that is no fun for anyone.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 17, 2011 in getting away

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “I am not ready but I’m too tired to think

  1. FFG

    March 18, 2011 at 7:57 am

    Have fun!!! Life always seems to get in the way of planning for things. I am looking forward to reading all about your trip.

     
  2. Tracy

    March 19, 2011 at 10:56 pm

    Hope you had a great time at ABC! Sounds like it was a great event on twitter – I’m so jealous!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
