RSS

Sundays in my City #51 – Practically Perfect

14 Mar

Yet another manic week in the world of SuperRelish and yet again I haven’t had my camera out but the trusty iPhone has snapped a few memories of my week.

Unknown Mami

The weekend  was practically perfect in every way.  My parents came down to visit and to celebrate with us.  Way back in September I had promised to get them tickets to Mary Poppins as a birthday gift for mum and a Father’s Day gift for dad as well as a huge thank-you for being awesome parents and grand parents.  Of course trying to find a date that suited all of us was easier said than done and naturally I wanted to get great seats so I waited until new seats were released before booking.  It was well worth the wait – we had second row seats!

I hadn’t told the kids where we were going and they didn’t work it out until the car pulled up in the street opposite the theatre.  To say they were excited was a bit of an understatement.  Boy-child even let me take a photo or three of him, sure he was being manipulated for the photo, but he was happy to have his photo taken!

Happy to be There

The show was amazing but I have to admit that I was a little distracted by the kids.  Girl-child was singing along to all of the songs and boy-child could barely sit still.  They loved every second of it, I loved it too, in fact if I can come across a spare billion dollars I would take the family there again and again and again.

We happened to walk by the Stage Door as the beautiful Rose (the performer who played Jane Banks) walked out.  She was more than happy to stop for photos and to chat.  Rose if from Sydney and it was her first show, she was fantastic and has a bright future ahead of her.

Stars of the Future

Of course after seeing the show and meeting Rose, girl-child wants to go back to dance class and add on singing lessons, I just don’t know how to fit it all in so it is still on the back-burner, for this term at least!

I may not have had time to take her to a dance class but I did find time to take girl-child in to the city to celebrate 100 years of International Women’s Day at a Women on the Bridge event on Sandridge Bridge in Melbourne.  She (me too!) was excited to show her support for friends who still have family stuck in war torn countries and put her hand print on the giant banner.

Hands for Women

Head over to Unknown Mami to see more practically perfect Sunday in your City participants.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on March 14, 2011 in all in the family

 

Tags: , , ,

6 responses to “Sundays in my City #51 – Practically Perfect

  1. Sonya

    March 14, 2011 at 9:26 pm

    I’m sooooo envious! I want to see it so bad! I am a huge fan of Mary Poppins and watch the movie atleast once a month..lol

     
  2. Steff

    March 14, 2011 at 10:51 pm

    When I was 7 my ballet school did a production of marry poplins I was a snail I am now sure their are no snails in mary poppins but eg artistic license however I have had asoft spot for it ever since

     
  3. gaelikaa

    March 14, 2011 at 10:55 pm

    Your kids are cute.

     
  4. sheila

    March 15, 2011 at 9:29 am

    Wow that really does look like a great time! How cool that you got to meet the little actress! So sweet! Also very wonderful that you expose your kids to such wonderful cultural events! Very nice post, most enjoyable!

     
  5. Unknown Mami

    March 17, 2011 at 2:11 pm

    I was in my elementary school’s production. How fun!

     

Leave a Reply

 
