RSS

What was I thinking?

22 Feb

Last week I did something I have never done before – I attended university!  In what seems to have been a moment of overambitious insanity delusion last year, I applied to go to university as  post graduate student, having never actually been to university to gain any undergraduate qualifications.  Well lo and behold, I was accepted and now I am a university student studying Adolescent Health and Welfare.

In an ideal world I will have completed my Grad Dip by studying part time for the next 2 years or if I am being even more ambitious, a Masters after 4 years.  That same ideal world would also be a world where

  1. I wasn’t working full time.
  2. I didn’t have 2 monsters darling children to keep entertained, involved and on track.
  3. I knew what study was and how to do it, not to mention knowing how to do research projects or writing for academic papers.
  4. I didn’t feel so old walking.  Seriously I was wandering around a campus full of the people who, based on age alone, could easily become a case study for my research!
  5. I didn’t need sleep (Surely there has to be a way to find an extra few hours a day just to sleep!)
  6. I wasn’t about to start training seriously again to walk the Kokoda track in July.

On a more positive note, hopefully by the time I finish studying I will have some vague concept about how to cope with my own adolescent monsters!

Oh and because I now have an overabundance of spare time, I have also decided to be a better blogger too, making this my second post in the 31 Days to Build a Better Blog over at Aussie Mummy Bloggers.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 22, 2011 in all about me, the world of blog

 

Tags: ,

4 responses to “What was I thinking?

  1. Trish

    February 22, 2011 at 11:07 pm

    Love your list post.
    Seriously you inspire me to do more with my time. It will be a juggle to fit it all in but you sound like you can accomplish anything if you can ….
    Walk the Kokoda track again …?

     
  2. Missy Boo

    February 23, 2011 at 12:31 am

    As a post graduate student, I had high ambitions to do a Masters.
    After working part-time, sole-parenting and completing 3 units last year, I’m finishing the 4th unit this semester taking my Post Grad Certificate and running away from uni until my daughter is much older!
    Good luck 🙂

     
  3. Leiani

    February 23, 2011 at 12:31 am

    Congratulations on going to uni! Hope all the study goes well. Funnily enough I’ve just started back to my study after nearly 3 years off, and am even part way through writing a post about it! LOL.

     
  4. FFG

    February 23, 2011 at 2:41 am

    Wonder woman! Good luck!

     

Leave a Reply

 
