RSS

Elevator Pitch

21 Feb

I have decided to join in with the 31 Days to Build aBetter Blog  Challenge over at Aussie Mummy Bloggers so that I have some idea about blogging before stepping even further out of my comfort zone and heading to Sydney to the Aussie Bloggers Conference.  I am late to start the challenge but what is new there?  Here goes…

Day 1 of the challenge is to write an elevator pitch. The idea is to have a short and sharp piece that you can say about yourself when the opportunity arises…The goal is both to communicate what you do and entice the person receiving your pitch to want to know more….Knowing what your blog is about helps you in developing every aspect of it.

I have an elevator pitch for work, that was easy, work is a defined role. What is my role or purpose for blogging? It started with a blog for the kids, superRelish that I really want to update, eventually (it is a year behind).  I loved writing this blog, but it wasn’t really a place for me to connect or to just ramble or even to vent when I needed to. I could see the community that was forming in other areas of blogland and I wanted
to be a part of it too. I didn’t want to change the focus of superRelish so I had to find my own home.
The first dilemma was where I would host the blog and what would it be called?  Call me strange but I was happy to share my view of the world with the rest of the world but not with the people I know in the real world yet I hoped (and still do) that one day in the far distant future I would be able to somehow merge the worlds.  Eventually this place was born; it is nothing super but it is My Relish. I still kind of like that as a tag line, it doesn’t sell anything but it does kind of represent me.

What do I blog about? Hmmm, another difficult question. Normally whatever pops into my head, so it is generally about me and my life, again nothing exciting. I remember the first bloggy get together that I attended,  I hadn’t done my homework so I didn’t know anyone there other than Karen from MiscMum.  Luckily we all had name tags and to make things easier, the tags also had our blog names on them.   I remember being asked if I had a foodie blog and until that second I hadn’t thought of MyRelish as a name relating to food at all, merely that it was a derivative of superRelish.  When I explained that the only time food was mentioned on my blog it was to recount just how much the bottomless pits I call my children actually eat! I went on to explain that I blog about me and my family and/or life in general. I think it was Steph over at Eidetic Memory who commented that she was relieved that there was someone else who just blogged for the sake of blogging and didn’t really have a purpose other than recording life as it was.  I guess there are two more possible tag lines, blogging for the sake of blogging or recording life as it is.

Something to start with at least, but now I don’t know what tag-line I like best

  1. …nothing super, just my Relish
  2. …blogging for the sake of it
  3. …recording life as it is
  4. …where the life of the superRelish crew is recorded
  5. …the grownup side to superRelish

I still like the original, but recognise that change is good too so I think I am going to go with #5, the grownup side of superRelish.  That way by linking to superRelish I will have to get my butt into gear and catch up again!

Whatever the tag line is, MyRelish is ‘A place to be me, where I can support the crazy world of superRelish without going completely insane. Or at least a place where I can record the insanity.’

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 21, 2011 in the world of blog, Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

4 responses to “Elevator Pitch

  1. Mari

    February 22, 2011 at 4:29 pm

    I like #3. I like #5 too, so I approve. 🙂
    I should take this challenge too, but…

     
  2. Leiani

    February 23, 2011 at 12:22 am

    I like the original, but 5 is great too!

     
  3. Julie

    February 23, 2011 at 2:51 pm

    yep, I like #5. It is a hard task isn’t it?

     
  4. Kimberley

    February 26, 2011 at 2:55 pm

    I like #5 🙂

    And zomg. I can’t do an elevator pitch. I have the 31 Days to a Better Blog ebook.. but uh. Have failed at this one task!

     

Leave a Reply

 
