RSS

After School Munch

16 Feb

A few weeks ago I was contacted by Bakers Delight to see if I would be interested in hosting an After School Munch, they would provide the breads if I could provide the kids to eat the bread.  Now who am I to say no to free food and an excuse to spend the afternoon sitting in the park.  Of course seconds after signing up to host the munch, I promptly forgot all about organising it.  Add in a crazy week at work and then an awesome weekend away and the day of the After School Munch was upon us, the only problem was I hadn’t organised anything or invited anyone but I was sure that I would be able to make it work somehow.

As we walked to school, I mentioned to the kids that I was going to invite a couple of their friends over to play after school.  All I heard was grumbles and moans, They were so disinterested you would think that I was asking them to paint the house or study Latin.  I mentioned that I was going to get a special delivery of bread and maybe some rolls to eat after school and that piqued their interest.  Boy-child wanted to know if there would be cheese and bacon rolls, and if there was, did he have to share them?  Since I hadn’t invited anyone over there was a fair chance that there would be a roll or two left!  Luckily I ran into a few friends of the kids on the walk to school and the After School Munch was planned.

Before I knew it I had a delivery of cheese and tomato rolls, (thankfully) some cheese and bacon rolls  and loaves of squishy white bread.  Now what to do? Every good party needs fairy bread and I was busting to try out a shaped sandwich cutter I picked up in Japan for an occasion like this.  (It also had a heart shape so it fit the bill for a Valentines Day munch!)  Once they were made, I figured that vegemite sandwiches are a staple in the diet of my kids would be required so I made up a pile of them too.  Then I added in some adult friendly sandwiches and a pile of fruit for the ravenous hordes that were joining us that afternoon and I was done.

I threw everything, the food for the After School Munch, plenty of water and some sacks for a sack race, in to a bucket to carry over to the park when the kids arrived home from school.

All packed and ready to go

I had grand plans to spread out the picnic and take some photos of well placed treats but that just wasn’t to be the case;  a dozen ravenous little monsters made sure that the picnic was devoured in seconds!

One lonely fairy-bread fish didn't last much longer

Once the ‘kid food’ was devoured, they moved in on the parent food!

Hey mum, I think I will eat salad sandwiches in my lunch now

After swiping the last cheese and bacon roll, boy-child decided to show his appreciation with a food over-share!

He reminds me of the cookie monster when he eats food he loves!

Once the food was devoured it was time to get the kids up and running, or to be more precise, jumping!

Jumping Beans

Another little friend found the stash of cheese and tomato rolls that boy-child had re-packed and hidden for a secret snack and had a feast of his own.

MINE! Don't even think of asking me to share!

All of the kids had a great time at the After School Munch and I enjoyed having an afternoon to relax in the park with friends, it was an almost perfect afternoon.  The only thing  that would have improved my afternoon was being able to eat all the delicious smelling goodies but as I am gluten intolerant, I had to live vicariously through the monsters but they all had a great After School Munch and that is what is important.

And what have I learnt from this experience?  That I am disorganised but can manage to get things together in a hurry if I need to, that my kids love squishy white bread, that the aforementioned kids can be deceitful just to save some rolls for later and that there is no way you can attempt to set up a picnic to take photos when surrounded by a mob of hungry monsters.  I have also learnt that bread and espcialy topped rolls like the cheese and bacon ones are a quick and easy go-to snack that my kids and their friends all love.

Don’t just take the word of my monsters, try them for yourself.  The wonderful people at Bakers Delight have given me five $5 vouchers to giveaway to people who stop by here.  If on the off chance that more than 5 people do leave a comment here then I will have my kids draw the winners names.  Please make sure that your email is linked to your own blog or profile so I can email you if you win one.  Entries close 23rd February 2011.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on February 16, 2011 in fantastic food

 

Tags: ,

9 responses to “After School Munch

  1. Steff

    February 16, 2011 at 10:20 pm

    Ooh I want some of those cool sacks too 🙂 loves me some squish white bread too

     
  2. Trish

    February 16, 2011 at 10:20 pm

    I came by to say hi …not just to enter this giveaway.
    I can see the Cookie Monster resemblance =O
    MMM I love Baker’s delight … it is a wonder they don’t make gluten free products.
    Love the pic of girl child.
    PS I will drop by someday for that cuppa – hopefully coming to VIC real soon.

     
  3. Trish

    February 16, 2011 at 10:22 pm

    Yes, Steff – I have been so envious of all the after school minch posts for those sacks too.

     
  4. Beet

    February 17, 2011 at 1:37 am

    Visiting from AMB.

    Looks like you all had a great time! 🙂

     
  5. Leiani

    February 17, 2011 at 4:02 pm

    Sounds like a perfect afternoon of fun and food. My boys love Bakers Delight too, especially the Apple & Custard Turnovers!

     
  6. mott

    February 22, 2011 at 10:09 pm

    I am here! I saw your tweet! I am HERE!

    I’m so hungry right now, I’m just licking my screen! Sigh…

    Thanks for the opportunity!

     
  7. Tat

    February 23, 2011 at 4:48 pm

    I love Baker’s Delight, please can I have a voucher?

     
  8. Caz

    February 23, 2011 at 7:48 pm

    Have just popped over from twitter. Would love to enter 🙂
    My little pink people would love to try them too :O)

     

Leave a Reply

 
