RSS

Parasites

10 Feb

Six months ago I was trekking through the jungles of Kokoda. I had a fantastic time but returned home with a little more than amazing memories, I also returned with a smaller body than I began the trek courtesy of 96 km of mountainous jungle climbing and a tummy bug.

In the six months since returning, I still have no appetite, have excessive thirst, have had random episodes of dodgy belly and a desire (need?) to exercise.  As you can imagine, I have continued to lose weight.  I don’t own scales and the last time I turned on the wii fit it reminded me that I hadn’t exercised for 200 or more days so I don’t actually remember what it said about my weight change.  Instead, I rely on using the scales at mum and dad’s house whenever I visit.  (Last visit I weighed in at 65.5kg down from 79.8kg before I went on the trek.)

So despite feeling energetic and pretty good something just isn’t quiet right with my body these days.  I know it is crazy going to a doctor to say “Hey I feel great and I am losing bucket loads of weight, what is wrong with me?” but I did.  So over the past few months my doctor had sent me for a barrage of tests but I haven’t really learnt much.  I do know that (after 3 lots of inconclusive testing) I don’t have diabetes .  I know that my kidney and liver function is normal.  I know that my vitamin D levels are low but that is normal for me despite spending heaps of time outdoors.  I also know that I have recently had atypical pneumonia, it sounds much worse than it is, I didn’t even know that I had it!  Other than that, I have no idea what is happening in my body so it is time to call in the experts.

Today I had a consultation with a gastroenterologist to try and work out what to do next.  I need to find out what is happening so that I can prepare for my next trek (all going well) in July!  The gastroenterologist is scheduling me for another barrage of tests in the coming months as well as giving me a monster dose of parasite killer as the current thinking is that with my random symptons/issues is more likely to be host to some tropical parasite in my gut.  Tomorrow I take the drugs and then wait.  I really don’t want to be the breeding ground for a parasite but I do like the new me, the one who is fit, healthy and energetic.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on February 10, 2011 in all about me

 

Tags: , ,

5 responses to “Parasites

  1. mk

    February 11, 2011 at 12:27 am

    Interesting! I just returned from Africa and have been having the same symptoms! SO thirsty, random stomach problems etc etc… did the parasite killer kick it for you at all?

     
  2. Leiani

    February 12, 2011 at 4:34 pm

    Not good that there may be some hitchhiking bug in your stomach, but at least it pays it way by way of losing weight and giving you energy!!! Hope they figure it out soon.

     
  3. PB

    February 13, 2011 at 6:58 pm

    Wow… are we going to recognise you when we next see you??

     

Leave a Reply

 
