RSS

Sundays in my City #44 – Capsail!

18 Jan

Unknown Mami

After being DINKs for 2 weeks it was time to head to mum and dad’s to catch up with the kids and bring them back to the real world.  I had a fantastic weekend, chilling with family, reading and lazing by the lake.  I was feeling somewhat guilty being able to enjoy the water knowing that 1/3 of the state was underwater and that Queensland and northern New South Wales are awash with terrible floods whilst being thankful for a lake and weir system that protects the area my family call home.

It was my time on the banks of the lake that I enjoyed best over the weekend.  Santa delivered an inflatable kayak for Christmas and we made the most of the finally sunner-like weather (that has since disappeared again).  Initially the kids were apprehensive to kayak alone and I was holding a tow rope on the shore but before I knew it they had worked out that falling in was just as much fun as staying afloat.  When I (or my dad) joined them in the water the game was to tip me out as often as possible.  They invented their own word CAPSAIL! and they were hear yelling it as they tried to tip the kayak.

Ready to Paddle

Poppy's turn to paddle

Alternate uses for a kayak!

CAPSAIL!

Resisting the Capsail

Capsail was an awesome game, perfect for a hot summer day.  Hopefully we will get to use the kayak again this summer.

Head to Unknown Mami for more Sundays in my City adventures.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 18, 2011 in all in the family

 

Tags:

2 responses to “Sundays in my City #44 – Capsail!

  1. Candace

    January 18, 2011 at 6:24 pm

    This looks like so much fun! Great capture of your fun day at the lake. You made some wonderful memories. Thanks so much for stopping by to see me and for your kind comments. Our town really is so beautiful! When the sun shines in the winter, it’s almost blinding outside with the snow. Sunglasses are a must! It’s so different from where I grew up. We’ve just moved here and I’m loving it so far. Take care, Candace

     
  2. Unknown Mami

    January 20, 2011 at 10:38 am

    I had to smile at these pictures because it is obvious much fun is being had.

     

Leave a Reply

 
