RSS

Sundays in my City # 39 – Wilbur

12 Dec

Unknown Mami

Today, a lovely sunny rainy windy crazy yet typical day in Melbourne, was also the day of my work Christmas party at the zoo.  Being a car-less family at the moment thanks to the scumbags who broke into our house, stole my laptop and my car, we had to ride to the zoo.  It wasn’t until I went to pack a bag ready to head off to the party that I realised that the mongrels took one of my cameras too!  GRRRRR.

Anyway, we made it to the zoo by pedal power and had fun exploring between the downpours.  As usual I took heaps of photos but as most of them contain images of the children of colleagues I won’t post them here.  Instead, here are a few happy snaps of Wilbur the Aldabra Giant Tortoise, the alpha male of the exhibit weighing in at about 200kg as a 90 year old!

For more Sundays in my City fun, head over to Unknown Mami’s place.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on December 12, 2010 in the world of blog

 

Tags: , ,

8 responses to “Sundays in my City # 39 – Wilbur

  1. ascapecodturns

    December 12, 2010 at 11:46 pm

    What a fun place to have a Christmas party! Wilbur looks quite content and spry as a 90 year old.
    Any word on finding your criminals?

     
  2. Sonya

    December 13, 2010 at 12:56 am

    The giant tortises are always my favorite to see when Im at the zoo..well those at Oragutans 🙂 I’m so sorry about the break in and loseing your car,laptop and camera! Thats horrible and I hope they are able to find who did this!

     
  3. mimbles

    December 13, 2010 at 1:31 am

    Wilbur is wonderful! I can watch these big guys for ages, but not for as long as my kids can watch meerkats 😉

     
  4. Kathy

    December 13, 2010 at 2:26 am

    Cool shots! Sorry someone took all your stuff….I hope they catch them and you get back everything especially your car!

     
  5. joanna jenkins

    December 13, 2010 at 7:17 am

    I would love to have a party at the Zoo! How fun is that. Love the turtle– he actually has more wrinkles than I do 😉
    Happy SIMC, jj

     
  6. Unknown Mami

    December 13, 2010 at 3:23 pm

    That’s one good lookin’ 90 year old.

    I’m so sorry about your stuff being taken by mongrels.

     
  7. BLOGitse

    December 13, 2010 at 11:22 pm

    Sorry about your stolen property…it’s always a mess afterwards.
    That turtle looks huge but friendly…
    Have a good week ahead!

     
  8. FFG

    December 14, 2010 at 4:49 pm

    I’m glad to hear that you were all able to have some fun this weekend. As usual, those are great photos!

     

Leave a Reply

 
