RSS

101 Things in 1001 Days – #18, 62, 75, 81, 82 and 86

30 Nov

I have written my list of 101 things to do in 1001 days with Day Zero Project.  Now it is time to start ticking of the items, one by one.

I didn’t take the time to plan out a totally awesome 101 list like Trish at My Little Drummer Boys, instead of thinking about each item individually and how they would help me to become the person I strive to be, I added whatever item popped in my head, irrespective of how relevant it was.  I would like to make a new list, or at least update this list to reflect some of the well thought out ideas that Trish shared but for now I will try to tick off as many items as I can within the 1001 days.

Clearly I was struggling to think about what to add to my list, just to get it done and there are a heap of items I can tick off as a result of my recent adventures in Japan.  I know it is a total cop out having so many items related to the one adventure but they are all things that I needed or wanted to do and hope that I will get a chance to do again.

#18 – Renew the kids passports

OK, I don’t know if this one counts.  The kids passports were renewed, they had to be or our trip to Japan wouldn’t have happened, but technically I wasn’t the one to do it.  In a hissy fit one day, a month or so before we were due to fly out, man-child questioned whether I had renewed the kids passports.  I exploded wondering why I had to do it; I had to organise everything else in the day to day running of the house and all the domestic bliss that in entails, manage kids and their activities AND work full time, I didn’t have time to add anything else to my to-do list, why the hell couldn’t you do it!  For fear of me going total nuts, man-child helped out and filled in all the paper work and took them for their oh-so-disgusting passport photos.  I did help by finding their birth certificates so I did contribute to them renewing their passports!  Just to distract you from my minimal contribution to the renewing of the passports, this is the photo from boy-child’s previous passport.

My Muppet Boy

Go on, have a laugh, you know you want to, I do every time I see it.  Yes he really did have a square head, but not that square!  Somehow between getting the photo printed and it appearing on the passport it was stretched sideways making him look like he is a muppet more than a child.  You should have seen the immigration official the last time he used this passport, when he was 4 flying back from New Zealand, he coughed politely to try not to laugh!

#62 – Get another stamp in my passport

In actual fact I now have another 2 stamps in my passport, the stamp from Japan and also the stamp from when we were forced to stop at Singapore because the boy was too sick to travel and was forbidden from flying.  We were only there for 30 hours but it was long enough to earn another stamp.

#75 – Get henna on my hand

Since starting the 101 Things challenge I have had henna painted on my hand a number of times, the first time at a Housing Week Celebration followed a day later at an Eid Celebration.  Of course the photographic evidence of this is on the other laptop, the one that no longer has a charger!  Unexpectedly, I had henna painted on my hand on the way back from Japan when we had a 7 hour stopover at Changi.  Naturally I didn’t think to take photos of it then either.  I am heading away on a camp in January that I am sure will involve liberal amounts of henna so hopefully I will remember to get a photo then.

#81 – Visit friends in Tokyo

The first two weeks of our time in Japan was spent staying in the home of some amazing friends.  It was great to share their home and to spend time with them.

Our host and the girl

Of course the timing was dreadful, their only daughter gave birth to their only grandchild just before we arrived.  They were gracious enough to let us stay in their home when they went to visit their beautiful grandson in Denmark.

#82 – Visit an onsen

On my last trip to Tokyo I went to this onsen theme park that had traditional bath house facilities as well as a few less ordinary options.  The bath that I loved most both that trip and this was the one with Doctor Fish.  I could write more about the Doctor Fish experience now but I think I will save it for my Memories of Japan series some time soon.  Instead, here is a pic of those with more delicate feet wandering through the gentle section of the pebble stream!

Paddling in the 'Stream'

#86 – Take a train somewhere

This is one item on my list that I expected to be a part of the trip to Japan.  Not only did we take a train, we took the Shinkansen (Bullet Train) from Tokyo to Kyoto!

Tickets to Ride

With all of these ticked off my list, along with a few others that I haven’t had a chance to post about, I have completed a ginormous 12% with 943 days remaining.  I had better get cracking with the rest of the list!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 30, 2010 in all about me

 

Tags:

2 responses to “101 Things in 1001 Days – #18, 62, 75, 81, 82 and 86

  1. PB

    December 3, 2010 at 11:48 am

    looks like man-child is getting ready to pee in the stream!!!

    Glad to hear that you guys had an awesome holiday.. we must try and catch up again soon xx

     
  2. Steff

    December 14, 2010 at 10:13 pm

    Looks like we are both back from a hiatus love the photo cracked up with tears

     

Leave a Reply

 
