RSS

Sundays in my City #25 – Harajuku

07 Nov

Unknown Mami

Technical difficulties (again) have reduced my possible selection of photos to be included in SIMC to only photos taken today.  That probably isn’t a bad thing considering between 3 cameras and man-child’s iPhone there are a few hundred photos to sift through, and that is just today’s photos.  I blame the kids, if they aren’t happily snapping away at things that interest them, they are being cute/interesting/freaky so I am snapping pictures of them! 

Today we went to Harajuku.  I must admit, I was a little disappointed.  Last time I was here, the youth on parade outside the station were dressed in the most amazing costumes just waiting for people to take their photos.  This time there weren’t so many sitting around to photograph.  That said, the streets were filled with people, some in costume, some in uniform and others that I wasn’t sure if they were in costume or not!  My guys dressed in their Halloween costumes just to add some more colour to the scene.

At the End of Takeshita Street

Girl-child was happy to stop and have her photo taken.  In fact she developed an uncanny ability to slow down whenever a zoom lens was pointed in her direction!

The Mad Milli Hatter in Harajuku

Boy-child isn’t such an attention seeker and likes to blend in a little more.  His costume of choice this year was ‘Where’s Wally’ (or Waldo depending on what country you grew up in!).  I have to say he totally rocked it!

Where's Wally?

By the end of the day shopping and exploring we were all exhausted and thankful that the subway in Tokyo is awesome and at this time of day there were pleny of seats for us.

Heading Home

So there is the short version of my Sunday, straight from the camera!  How did you spend your day?  Head over to Unknown Mami to see how others have spent their day.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on November 7, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

10 responses to “Sundays in my City #25 – Harajuku

  1. Joanne Olivieri

    November 8, 2010 at 3:27 am

    Those costumes are so clever and colorful. It looks like a great time was had by all. Thanks for sharing.

     
  2. Unknown Mami

    November 8, 2010 at 4:33 am

    I wish I were with you guys!

     
  3. Sonya

    November 8, 2010 at 4:35 am

    Wow what a fun time!

     
  4. BLOGitse

    November 8, 2010 at 5:45 am

    oh yes, one country I want to visit one day – lucky you!

     
  5. kelli

    November 8, 2010 at 10:42 am

    great photos, thanks for sharing. Love the kids costumes

     
  6. PB

    November 8, 2010 at 11:42 am

    Great costumes !!! Made for the purpose of not losing a child??

     
  7. Kristin

    November 8, 2010 at 2:51 pm

    What great costumes! and you’re right, your son totally rocked Where’s Wally.
    I know what you mean about too many photos each day. I do that to myself.

    Kristin _ The Goat

     
  8. Star Traci

    November 17, 2010 at 4:41 am

    How fabulous they both are! Your daughter is gorgeous in her brights but I especially love the Where’s Waldo/Wally? costume. That’s brilliant.
    🙂
    Traci

     
  9. FFG

    November 24, 2010 at 5:57 pm

    I love their costumes! Definitely vibrant and inspiring!

     
  10. Wanderlust

    November 30, 2010 at 4:59 pm

    What great photos! Your kids are adorable and I love the costumes. I wanted to thank you for the postcards, and for leaving your blog address so I could track you down! It was lovely to get not one, but two cards from two countries. Thanks for thinking of me. Glad you enjoyed your time overseas!

     

Leave a Reply

 
