RSS

Proud as Punch

26 Oct

I feel like I spend much of my time complaining about boy-child and his quirks, about how hard he can be to manage or motivate, about how I just don’t get him however like me he may be.  I give him a really hard time and I often feel as if I spend all of my time nagging at him.   Sometimes I really wonder if he lives in the same world as the rest of us and then there are days like today, when my heart swells to bursting point and I am just so proud of him. 

Let me go back a little and start this story properly.  Those that know me, and my family, know that we are very relaxed and free-range.  We do have rule and responsibilites but they are few (they are however VERY consistent).  Over the past 8 months, the kids have been walking home from school on their own.  Today, boy-child wanted to walk or scoot to school on his own.  Naturally girl-child didn’t so we compromised.  Since I had to drive to work, via the school street, we decided to meet part way there for our goodbye cuddle-kiss. 

Off he went, school bag on his back, helmet on his head happily scooting along the path through the parks.  Naturally with us in the car, we arrived at our meeting point earlier than he did so we sat on a seat to wait for him.  We could see him in the distance, scooting behind a few other pedestrians headed this way also.  One of these pedestrians happened to be a beautiful local lady who is blind.  I had a fleeting thought that he would scoot by her, completely oblivious.  Actually, if I am being honest I was really crossing my fingers hoping he wouldn’t knock her down in his haste.  I almost didn’t want to look, I was too far away to assist if anything did go wrong.  I buried my head in the sand looked away to answer girl-child.

When I looked back, I couldn’t believe my eyes.  Here was my boy, my beautiful amazing 8 year old boy was walking the woman across the street!  Naturally I was beaming with pride, but also realistic.  I expected him to then scoot off, leaving her in his dust.  Instead he continued to walk with her along the foot path, her holding his arm for guidance and he was holding his scooter with his other.  They stopped at the next road, he checked in all directions and then walked her across the road again.  It wasn’t a fluke, my little boy is actually an awesome, considerate, amazing little guy.  

As they approached where I was waiting, you could see he didn’t want to leave her.  He came and gave me a quick cuddle-kiss and then continued on with her and now his little sister, along the road to school. 

So there you have it – I am capable of immense pride and joy and I will say it again; my boy is awesome!  I am so glad that with the freedom and independence he has been given he has made fantastic choices.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on October 26, 2010 in the monsters

 

Tags: ,

5 responses to “Proud as Punch

  1. Bec

    October 26, 2010 at 11:22 am

    Oh Del. That is just so sweet. I have tears in my eyes. What an amazing boy-child you have. xx

     
  2. AJ

    October 26, 2010 at 5:06 pm

    I thought it was just me, that made me want to cry. Good on him – what a lovely boy. xoxo

     
  3. FFG

    October 26, 2010 at 5:42 pm

    How amazing! You have every right to be PROUD!

     
  4. PB

    October 27, 2010 at 12:06 am

    Ditto to the above!!

    AJ “you rock!”

     
  5. Leiani

    October 27, 2010 at 4:42 pm

    What an absolutely wonderful thing to see. You should be so very proud of him, and of yourself for bringing up and teaching him the right thing to do.

     

Leave a Reply

 
