RSS

101 Things in 1001 Days – #30

16 Sep

I have written my list of 101 things to do in 1001 days with Day Zero Project.  Now it is time to start ticking of the items, one by one.

101 Things to do in 1001 Days #30 – Run 3 times a week for a month

Well I have been home from Kokoda for a month now (how can it possibly have been so long ago?) and during that time I have been running most mornings.  I didn’t run the morning after I returned home, nor did I run the morning that I had to start work at 6am, but every other weekday morning, I have been out pounding the pavement in the wee hours of the morning.  I know I have had stints of running in the past, but this is the first time that I have actually enjoyed the running part of going for a run, normally I relish the 30 minutes of peace and quiet and dread the actual exercise.  I am finding that I can run the entire loop without too much effort and I may actually be running a little faster now than I was when I first returned.

Despite this new found fitness, or at least desire to be fit, I am afraid that the school holidays and lack of routine will kill my exercise mojo.  I am a creature of habit.  Monday to Friday I sleep in my running gear, I generally wake before my alarm sounds and then sneak downstairs and out the door, I am enjoying the brisk Melbourne air before I have even registered that I am awake and out of the warm comfort of my bed.  I am concerned that once holidays begin, next week, that I will spend so much time driving up and down the freeway to my parents house and playing taxi to the kids that I won’t have the time nor the energy to go running.  I am loathe to set my alarm during holidays but at the same time I know that I am very unlikely to run during daylight hours when real people can actually see me and laugh at my plodding run (I know I would laugh at me!).

What should I do?  Do I just forgo exercise for the school holidays and hope that I will fall out of bed, full of energy wanting to go for a run when school goes back or try to make myself exercise during daylight hours?  Do I re-start this challenge and try to run 3 times a week next term?

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 16, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “101 Things in 1001 Days – #30

  1. Bec

    September 16, 2010 at 10:51 pm

    Keep your routine!

     
  2. PB

    September 17, 2010 at 10:49 am

    you sleep in your running gear! that’s too funny!! Last night Amelia wanted to sleep in her footy clothes so that she would be all ready for school today. I told her no! Mean mummy!!

     
  3. Leiani

    September 17, 2010 at 4:07 pm

    Holidays throw me out of my much loved routines too, though I love the idea of being freer without routines, truth is that I thrive on them. My suggestion is don’t stop exercising for 2 weeks as not only will it be harder to get back into the swing of it later on, your fitness levels will drop dramatically. I found this out after missing 3 wks of martial arts due to a chest infection and only now weeks and weeks later is my cardio fitness coming back. Have you thought about alternate ways of exercising during the holidays that you can do during the day? Such as using an exercise dvd, Wii fit, skipping in the backyard, yoga or just make up your own basic routine? A break from running, whilst still exercising a different way, might amp up the motivation to get back to running after the holidays. You now, absence makes the heart grow fonder, type thing LOL.

     
  4. Marla

    September 20, 2010 at 3:02 pm

    Been reading through and I must say….LOVE the list idea! You are quite entertaining!! 🙂

     

Leave a comment