RSS

Ready to Go?

05 Aug

My bag is packed (I think) and now it is time for me to try and get some sleep.  I am so very tired but at the same time I am too nervous and excited to sleep.  I still hear the kids awake but I am too afraid to go upstairs again for fear of setting the tears off again.  I think that they are now resigned to the fact that when they wake up in the morning I will already be on a plane, flying north waiting for my ginormous adventure to begin.  I have left a new journal and pen for them so they can document what they get up to when I am away and then share it with me (if they want to) when I get back.  The softies that we made together will be left on their pillows as I kiss them goodbye before heading out on my adventure in the wee hours of the morning.

I have suggested that the superRelish crew visit the Shrine of Remembrance on Sunday the 8th of August for Kokoda Day, to celebrate and to remember with the 39th Battalion the first re-capture of Kokoda to gain an understanding of the importance of the Kokoda campaign.  Having begun my trek from Kokoda on the 7th, I will spend the 8th of August walking from Isurava to Templetons 2 with a stop at Isurava Memorial to pay tribute to all those that fought for Australia in the Kokoda campaign in World War II.

In the time that I am away, I will have very limited access to the ‘outside world’, I will however making a satellite call each evening for a regular ‘guest post’ over at the Moonee Valley Weekly blog so please drop by and comment.  For some background on the adventure, check out the article published in the latest edition of the Moonee Valley Weekly.  See you in 12 days and be prepared for the eleventy billion photos and the accompanying that are sure to follow.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 5, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Ready to Go?

  1. ali

    August 5, 2010 at 11:38 pm

    Good luck. Have a wonderful time. It will be amazing I’m sure. I’ll be checking that blog! xx

     
  2. Steff

    August 6, 2010 at 10:54 am

    good luck – I really hope you have a blast

     
  3. PlanningQueen

    August 7, 2010 at 12:30 pm

    Have a great time. It will be such an amazing experience. I look forward to reading your reflections when you return.

     
  4. Trish

    August 12, 2010 at 11:38 am

    (hugs) I missed saying have a fabulous time and experience of a lifetime. I will go check you daily adventure update.
    I am in awe of you.

     

Leave a Reply

 
