RSS

28 Jul

Other than my addition to taking part in Sundays in my City and Weekly Winners, I feel like every time I go to blog these days I feel like I should start off by staying that it has been so long since I have been online that I don’t know where to start.  Well just for something different, I will say it again – I really don’t know where to start.

Tired and grumpy is probably an accurate starting point.  Closely followed by a feeling that everything is spiraling out of control.  It really shouldn’t be all consuming having something spin out of control yet I guess it is fair to say that I am at times a control freak.  I like to know what is happening, when it is happening and who is in charge of making sure it does happen on time.  Lately work has been almost all consuming so my control freak nature is going overboard at work but by the time I get home I am too tired to have any element of control over my own environment.  I manage to run around like a psycho of a morning to get everyone set up for the day and all the essentials done.  This morning, after procrastinating a little too long, I managed to get the kids fed, dressed and ready for school, get ready for work, pack lunches and put dinner on to cook all in less than 45 minutes before running out the door.  I know that some of this responsibility can be taken on by others but I know that if I do it myself it will be done when it needs doing and most days that is just easier – it is the control freak in me coming out to play again!

Anyway, today was a fairly typical start to the day around here, in the crazy busy mad kind of way.  I was woken by the alarm that I don’t need to set – the not so little kitten running up and down the stairs at around 6.30am wondering where his breakfast is, despite the fact that there is still food in the food bowl.  Of course this thunderous noise is enough to wake the kids from their slumber and first port of call for them, a toilet run.  Now normally that shouldn’t be a problem however with the current renovation status, the kids bathroom on the middle floor is no longer so they wander upstairs to use our bathroom.  I feign sleep and ignore the wanderings of the kids and lay in bed thinking I really should get out of bed and do some training but all that contemplation is exhausting, so I try to go back to sleep.  Often sleep doesn’t happen so I read overnight tweets and a few blogs and wish that I had the patience to comment via my phone.  Next thing I know is I need to be running around the house like a chook without a head trying to get everything and everyone ready before starting work.

Work is crazier than usual at the moment and I have been starting an hour earlier than usual most days in the past few weeks and have ended up working later than usual also.  Today was a crazier version of work than usual as it involved a training and information session.  Naturally the session ran overtime and I didn’t get home until almost 7pm.  I had everything timed perfectly – leave the course I was at to get to training on time, ensure all paperwork was completed and record what was equipment was provided at the information session, depart promptly and drop of other participants on the way home.  That would give me time to get back from training with at least half an hour to spare.  I would use that time to fish the pot-roast out of the slow cooker and feed the kids before the boy headed off to Cubs.  That was the plan.  Things I couldn’t control that then caused my well timed plan to fly out the window – wet weather, other people being late to training, the equipment not being available until after the training was completed and then having to wait around for question and answer sessions all of which resulted in training going for more than an hour longer than planned.

By the time I left training and headed home fighting horrendous traffic, I was so late that boy-child had left for Cubs half an hour earlier.  The poor boy had to feed himself and get ready with nothing more than a phonecall from me saying have fun before he was picked up.  The dinner I had set to cook was still in the slow cooker, he can’t reach it so he made do with eating 2 bananas and 3 tins of spaghetti!  My boy is nothing if not a resourceful eating machine.  Girl-child had chicken curry leftovers from the fridge instead.

All this was a mere 2 hours ago.  What have I managed to do since?  Not much at all.  I have been sitting around, overwhelmed at just how much I need to do, wishing that there was a simple solution to getting everything done.  Boy-child should be home from cubs soon and the kids will be tucked into bed for a far-too-short sleep.  The night will be mine, but at the same time it will nearly be over so instead of getting anything done, I will head to bed myself in preparation to begin the same crazy pattern tomorrow.  Perhaps as I wait for boy-child to return I should begin to write a to-do list so I can actually keep track of what still needs doing.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 28, 2010 in just a day

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “

  1. Steff

    July 28, 2010 at 10:19 pm

    Oh – and i was feeling overwhelmed – you poor thing – try to breathe – you sound exhausted

     
  2. Leiani

    July 29, 2010 at 5:15 pm

    Sympathies to you. I know that overwhelmed spinning out of control feeling quite well. There is hope, for me the trick was getting enough rest. Something I don’t do often enough as I’m a night-owl. With enough sleep I feel strong enough to cope with a crazy life. Hugs to you and I hope things are on a more even keel soon.

     

Leave a Reply

 
