RSS

Weekly Winners #32 – Taniwha

25 Jul

My favourite photo of the week is of a log submerged in the Yarra river.  It isn’t that the photo is particularly good but it evokes great memories of a book we love and a friend by the same name – Taniwha.

Taniwha

There’s a Taniwha in my river.  People say it’s a log but I know it’s a Taniwha.

Taniwha is a beautiful book about a boy who believes in the folk-law of his culture and lets his imagination take him to wonderful places where he is given gifts as a reminder of his belief and faith.  I love this review of the book.

I wish we had seen the Taniwha before we began exploring the area, I am sure that our adventures would have been more interesting had we been looking for more Taniwha!  That said, we still had a fantastic day together.

Overlooking the River

Head over to I am Lotus for more Weekly Winners.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 25, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Weekly Winners #32 – Taniwha

  1. Deborah

    July 25, 2010 at 11:48 pm

    Thank you for the lovely comment about my review of the book. That’s definitely a taniwha you have spotted in the Yarra.

     
  2. Tanya

    July 27, 2010 at 9:03 am

    Yay for all Taniwhas in the world – love all these adventures you guys get up to – inspires me to get out and go exploring too

     
  3. Pua

    September 25, 2010 at 11:44 am

    My husband’s aunt sent my children this book when they were little. That was many years ago. My eldest daughter is now 25 and just yesterday, she mentioned the Taniwha and I reflected on the happy memories that evoked. Thank you for reminding me yet again. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
