RSS

Back to Reality

08 Jul

The school holidays are all but over and I have barely had the time to document the adventures.  I will start with a cop-out bullet post to set the scene before I begin the arduous task of sorting through the 493 photos (from the one camera – I can’t download the hundred odd photos from the other camera!) ready to upload.

So, where to start?

If it is any indication of the amount of time I have spent driving, the car is now due for it’s first service courtesy of two x 3 hour each way trips up to my parents.  Add to this a full day awesome adventure in Ned Kelly Country exploring the rugged bush with family and friends and another 300+km travelled.  In fact the day trip was so much fun that we re-lived part of the adventure with more cousins on our way home.  Oh and we got lost side-tracked on the way and that added an extra hour or 2 of travel time but it was well worth it.  Add to this 2 bus trips a week apart with work, the first I complained about last week was a trip out to Mt Macedon for an arduous climb through the slush and today a drive out to climb the 1000 Steps at Mt Dandenong a couple of times before heading to a High Altitude Training Facility to walk another couple of kilometers at 3000 meters.  Needless to say, not only am I sick of traveling, my body is getting ready to ache again.

So travel aside, what else have I been up to?  Time for the bullets.

  • quilts made – none, but I did start 2, one for each of the kids.  I am almost finished one but ran out of fabric and only got a 1/4 of the way through the second.  I think there may be a trip back to a fabric shop in the near future.
  • fabric squares cut to make said quilt – about eleventy billion.  Each quilt is 10 squares wide and when finished will be about 40 squares long, oh and it is double sided and there are 2 quilts so surely that equals eleventy billion.
  • days spent all but housebound due to fog – fortunately only one day.  We did get out to go visiting but couldn’t see much, in fact I couldn’t see the other side of the street the fog was so thick.  With no sunshine, the fog managed to blanket us in cold with the top temp for the day reaching a mighty 5 degrees so staying inside was a mighty fine idea.
  • kids introduced to toffee apples – 7.  We found a stick that looked like a toffee apple on one of our adventures but the kids had no idea what a toffee apple was so I made some.  I had fond memories of toffee apples as a kid, the thought of eating such a luxurious item however I didn’t actually like the apple as it was normally soft and old, it was more about being allowed to eat one.  I decided to make my own version – I chopped up heaps of apples, stabbed them with a toothpick and then dipped them in apple.  I have to say they were pretty great.  The toffee wasn’t too thick and the apple was fresh and yummy, everyone loved them!
  • hours spent without internet access – most of them.  I barely had my laptop out of the bag and even if it was out I couldn’t log on to my folks wi-fi network all of the time, not only was the modem temperamental, I couldn’t log on at all if their desktop wasn’t turned on.  Some nights I could access an unlocked network somewhere in the neighbourhood giving me a chance to read blogs before sleep but it was too hard to comment.
  • hours spent without phone service – even fewer than those with internet access.  My service provider has sporadic coverage at best in the bush.  If I sat in the left seat of the couch I had some service, if I was in bed I had service anywhere else in the house I had nothing.  Once I got over the inability to be instantly connected it was kind of nice to be almost completely uncontactable.
  • meals prepared by someone other than me – all but breakfast (and that is simply because I didn’t really eat breakfast at breakfast time).  It is so great not having to cook meals every day and even better not having to decide what to cook every day.  Sometimes a week with mum is better than I could possibly imagine!
  • birthdays celebrated – only one and a day late.  Sorry man-child.  We hope that you had a great birthday weekend with friends, watching the bands and playing with your new toy
  • birthday gifts for the family – a Mac desktop!  You can go shopping any time man-child 🙂
  • unexpected adventures – our time away was filled with adventures but the best was stopping on the side of a tiny little dirt road in the hills, in the middle of nowhere to let the kids make snowballs with the drifts of snow on the side of the road.
  • bathrooms gutted – I was surprised to return home to find out that our builder was back.  This renovation burst will see us with a new main bathroom.  Currently the floors and walls have been ripped out now we need to find tiles and cabinetry to fit it out, something else to add to the to-do list!

So now that the holidays are almost done, I have only a few days to enjoy the lack of routine before the school and work madness kicks in.  Not sure what we will do over these few days, perhaps a few visits with friends that we don’t see often, ideally a trip to a market to fill the fridge with something edible, oh and the kids are off to their first ice-skating lesson on Saturday so I think these last few days will be filled.  Not sure how all of this will be managed if the car goes in for a service as required, it should be an interesting few days.  Did I mention that I am happy to be home?  I am; I really do love my reality.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 8, 2010 in getting away

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “Back to Reality

  1. FFG

    July 8, 2010 at 2:49 am

    Busy, busy, busy – but sounded like a nice break.

     
  2. Leiani

    July 8, 2010 at 10:34 am

    Wow – what a action packed busy time you’ve had! Glad you had a great break. Looking forward to seeing photos soon.

     
  3. Steff

    July 12, 2010 at 1:31 pm

    You sound as busy as me after my burst of posting i have lapsed back into “oh crap i am getting behind again”
    Good luck with teh catch up

     

Leave a Reply

 
