RSS

Mirror Mirror

27 May

I have just read a post over at McMama’s Musings, about how our kids are constant reminders of who we are and parrot what we say, the good the bad and the ugly.

It reminded me of a school yard conversation a few weeks ago when another mother approached me to say she heard ‘me’ in her living room the other night, speaking through my boy.  So to set the scene, boy-child is over at his friends house for a play after school.  His friend wanted to watch something on tv and the conversation that followed went something like this.

friend – “Let’s watch blah-blah on telly.”

boy-child – “Now friend, you have a someone over to play and that doesn’t happen every day.  Blah-blah is on telly every day.  You need to make a choice!”

Apparently his friend thought about his choices, turned the TV off and went back upstairs to play!

Clearly I am quite strong in presenting the choices that face my kids at regular times but most importantly they are learning about making choices and learning about consequences.  He made me so proud, or course he is prone to less than blog-worthy comments more often than not but I won’t go there today.

Does anyone else have Mirror Mirror moments?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 27, 2010 in all in the family

 

Tags:

3 responses to “Mirror Mirror

  1. Susie

    May 28, 2010 at 12:40 am

    I can’t think of one off-hand, but it happens all the time. Sometimes, I think “yeah, they are listening!” other times, it’s more like, “Oh, I really sound like that?”

    I love that your son is picking up your diplomatic skills

     
  2. McMama

    May 28, 2010 at 1:20 am

    Thanks for the link. Glad I was inspiring. 🙂 It’s always good to take a moment to hear and see the good reflections of our parenting, isn’t it?

     
  3. Leiani

    May 28, 2010 at 2:43 am

    I quite often hear Kaiden, my 14 yr old talking to Corey, my 12 yr old, in much the same way I do. That can be good at times, and sometimes quite a wake up call as to how I act and what I say. Congrats on doing so well raising your kids!

     

Leave a Reply

 
