RSS

Ouch, it ALL Hurts.

19 May

What did you do today?  For me, today was another not-work day but as usual I spent far too much time working.  That in itself isn’t that unusual, but let me rewind a little and begin the day at the beginning.

The day began before sparrow fart, some time around 5am, the geriatric cat took up too much room in the bed and a kitten crawled over my head.  Now normally that wouldn’t have much of an impact but I couldn’t get comfy to just roll over and go back to sleep but I actually felt awake.  Instead I got up and went to the loo and realised that it was too early to get up, it was still way too dark outside and insanely cold.  I crawled back into bed hoping for a bonus sleep cycle and some warmth.  It didn’t really work and I think I dozed off again just before the alarm sounded at 6.10 at which time I was really tired.  I contemplated staying in bed and almost talked myself into it but the knowledge that I had to do some training so I dragged my sorry cold butt out of bed.  I donned a jacket, scarf and my trusty bag of rice and I was out the door.  I walked my regular morning track a little faster than usual to try and stay warm.

By the time I returned home I was glad that I had been out and enjoyed the crisp cool frigid air.  I sat around waiting for the kids to wake and started a giant pot of porridge to keep me warm.  The kids surfaced shortly thereafter but before I knew what was happening the girl-child had disappeared, she had taken herself back off to bed saying she was tired and had a headache and an upset tummy.  Instantly I thought that there goes the rest of my day and extra training. Instead I set about getting the boy ready for school.

When boy-child went to get dressed into green coloured casual clothes for school to celebrate the opening of the new garden at school, girl-child proclaimed herself to be feeling much better so she dragged herself back out of bed and spent the next half hour trying to find the most appropriate.  First the pants were too short, then they were too baggy, then she proclaimed that they made her bum look baggy – WTF, she is 6!  I declared she looked adorable no matter what she chose to wear and went about getting ready for my day.  Finally we were all ready and we set off for school, the kids with their school bags and me with my trusty bag of rice.

After dropping the kids to school I decided I would walk to work, another 5 km on top of the 4km walked a few hours ago.  Of course my quick visit to work to check a few projects took much longer than expected and before I knew it, it was 2pm, I had to head home and go to training, another 5km walk, this time up a gentle hill most of the way.

Knowing that I had to get home from training at a decent hour, I decided to drive there.  I was anticipating a gym workout, something that wouldn’t be too strenuous but how wrong could I have been.  Instead of a gentle training session we did some stair climbs.  We walked to a nearby apartment building and began climbing, 20 floors up and 20 floors down.  I didn’t make it to the top the second climb, merely 18 floors.  I had a little extra time so did another 10 floors.  48 flights of stairs up and down.  Did I mention that I had my backpack with me, my backpack containing a giant 10kg bag of rice?

So now when I say ouch, everything hurts you know why.  I am really tired and want to go to bed, but bed is up another 2 flights of stairs and right now that is 2 flights too many.  If I had a blanket I would curl up and sleep on the couch.  Luckily I am NOT, I repeat NOT going to work tomorrow so I figure I can have a sleep in, at least until 7.30!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on May 19, 2010 in all about me

 

Tags: ,

5 responses to “Ouch, it ALL Hurts.

  1. Leiani

    May 21, 2010 at 3:49 pm

    Wow – quite a workout day you had! Don’t over-do it though, or you won’t be able to walk for a week. Those stairs on top of the long walk sound hideous!

     
    • superrelish

      May 21, 2010 at 5:17 pm

      I am feeling it today, my morning walk was the slowest it has been in forever but it did manage to get rid of some of the stiffness. That said I am back to real training tomorrow with a mountain climb. More ouch headed my way.

       
  2. Unknown Mami

    May 24, 2010 at 7:03 am

    I am impressed!

    That bag of rice gets around.

     
    • superrelish

      May 24, 2010 at 8:22 am

      The adventures of the rice bag continued on the weekend with a ‘leisurely’ stroll up a mountain. Photos to come soon I hope!

       
  3. FFG

    May 25, 2010 at 3:28 pm

    Inspirational! Actually, it made me want to go to sleep. Sounds comfy!

     

Leave a Reply

 
