RSS

Yippee!

14 May

Remember last week I was moaning about working from home on a not work day to apply for a position in another program.  Well I was shortlisted and had an interview for the position on Wednesday.  I felt that it went well and was quietly confident and I spent the next 2 days with my fingers and toes are crossed, waiting waiting waiting, to nervous to mention it to anyone, afraid that if I blogged about it I would be jinxed and I wouldn’t be successful.  Well I have to wait no longer – THE big work thing is now MY big work thing and I absolutely terrified AM OVER THE MOON WITH EXCITEMENT with a rather large side serve of freaking out completely.

I can’t really say much about the position/program/adventure at this stage, but hopefully some time really soon I will have another blog up and running showing where the project is at and how everyone is surviving.  What I can say is that I have got a lot of work to do, both work in my real job as well as the extra workload that this new position will entail.  Oh and add to that hours and hours of physical training to get super fit and strong in only 3 months and I don’t think I will have time to sleep.

An added bonus of being a part of this program is that it is a great motivator to get back into exercise again, not so much because I want to but because I have to.  If I aren’t physically fit I won’t be able to take part in the adventure.  My morning stroll around the river that would normally entail me  enjoying the peace and quiet as I watched the sun rise over the city is now no longer such a gentle stroll.  Today I walked the same path but I was power walking as much as one can power walk whilst toting a 10kg bag of rice in a backpack!  Hopefully I will find some comfortable ankle weights and strengthen my legs even more.  Add to my current routine a ‘short’ training session of 1-2 hours once a week and a ‘long’ training session of 3-5 hours once a fortnight I should be super fit before I know it.

Now the question I have to ask myself is how do I juggle some more and keep those few extra balls in the air?  The next 3 months should be crazy but did I mention that I am excited AND I have to renew my passport!  Yippee

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 14, 2010 in and they call this work

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Yippee!

  1. Leiani

    May 15, 2010 at 1:13 am

    Congratulations. On what ever it may be. LOL. Looking forward to more details when the time is right. It’s lovely to be excited by the future isn’t it? And it sounds like we’ll be in exercise agony together as we get fit….hehe.

     
  2. Steff

    May 31, 2010 at 6:13 pm

    ooh i think I can guess – is it Kokoda?

     

Leave a Reply

 
