RSS

Bloggers Without Makeup

14 May

I feel a little out of the loop at the moment, I have been too busy worrying stressing tearing my hair out keeping my fingers and toes crossed that I have been offline almost all week.  Whenever I did find a few seconds to check tweets I kept seeing #BloggersWithoutMakeup not just once or twice but everywhere and it was quite clear that today is a big day, a day for all to come clean and blog with a naked face.

Now I know I am late to the party, the day is almost over but I thought why the heck can’t I just crash the party?  Just like almost every other day, I didn’t wear any makeup today and surely that in itself is an invite!

So here I am.  I guess I am hiding behind my (new) glasses but surprisingly enough they make it easier for me to see things!

Seeing so many tweets and blog references to BloggersWithoutMakeup has made me realise that makeup is such a big part of many wonderful women’s lives.  Perhaps wearing makeup on occasion would make me look less tired, perhaps even younger but I would rather those few extra precious minutes of sleep or peace and quiet and instead hope that the sleep or rest will help me look refreshed instead.  As a result I don’t often wear makeup.  A good (makeup) day might entail mascara but as it is such an infrequent occurrence I forget that I am wearing it so I wake looking much like a panda.  In all honesty, my kids have more makeup than I do and if I do go out and require some paint I have to ask to use theirs.  With my lack of makeup wearing it almost feels like I am cheating posting about not wearing makeup but I have noticed other bloggers have commented on feeling exposed when they aren’t wearing makeup,well that’s the way when I have my photo taken, even if it is a self portrait.

Congratulations Jodie Ansted at Mummy-Mayhem on bringing so many wonderful women together to share in their natural beauty.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on May 14, 2010 in all about me

 

Tags: ,

10 responses to “Bloggers Without Makeup

  1. AJ

    May 14, 2010 at 8:59 pm

    I found this really interesting, I have a love/hate relationship with it. I love how I feel when I am wearing it, but I hate that I feel less confident without it. I didn’t know about this, butI’m off to look at everyone else, it blows my mind how different some people look.

     
  2. Megan @ Writing Out Loud

    May 14, 2010 at 10:07 pm

    Hi there, look-a-like 🙂
    Saw your comment on my blog, then your tweet, and laughed!! I had to come and see you. And you’re gorgeous (and not just cause you look like me… ;)).

     
  3. Naomi

    May 14, 2010 at 10:08 pm

    Late to the party is better than not being there at all! You look great!

     
  4. Ali

    May 14, 2010 at 10:28 pm

    you look great! x

     
  5. Karen (miscmum)

    May 14, 2010 at 11:23 pm

    Hallo there! Mwah! So glad you’re taking part. Been a fun day, yes? Take care, don’t get too stressed x

     
  6. Leiani

    May 15, 2010 at 1:06 am

    Love the new glasses! You look fab.

     
  7. Jodie at Mummy Mayhem

    May 15, 2010 at 3:02 pm

    Thank you for your congrats – but I thank you for taking part! You look just lovely. 🙂 x

     
  8. Cerry

    May 15, 2010 at 9:09 pm

    You look wonderful, as do the glasses.

     
  9. Bern Morley

    May 16, 2010 at 10:24 am

    Why would you wear makeup – your skin is amazing 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
