RSS

28 Apr

Do you ever have moments when you just want to curl up in a ball and cry?  Right now I am having one of those moments and even the frivolity of Spicks and Specks is doing nothing to cheer me up.  You see I have spent the last few nights frantically copying photos from my laptop to my shiny almost new external drive.  I was proud of myself for working out how to split the drive so that it could act as a time machine and also as a photo storage device.  What I wasn’t proud of is the fact that I didn’t have any real system of backing up photos and as a result they could have disappeared entirely.

Once upon a time I backed up photos on CDs but when 2 of 6 disks of photos from our trip to the USA died without us being able to recover the photos I decided that it really wasn’t a viable option.  Around the same time I found Flickr and I began uploading my favourites here and there before I had a pro account.  When I got my own laptop, I copied all of my old photos on to an external hard drive and began filling up my laptop with far too many photos.  Of course the hard drive that I used?  That was the hard drive that died recently.  Man-child was able to recover 34,000 odd photos but wasn’t able to recover any photos taken at the Empire State Building, a bus tour in New York, the Jersey Shore, photos from the many parks in Princeton, a day Children’s Museum of Manhattan and a truck load of photos from Central Park.  I am sure that there are heaps of other photos that I have lost from that trip that I just can’t remember now.

With the death of that external hard drive I began the process of freaking the hell out.  Slowly I began sifting through the memories, trying to cull the completely crap photos and then upload the ones that were left to Flickr as a secondary storage option.  Simple concept right?  Well of course I used up half of our internet limit within a few days and was relegated to uploading during off-peak hours, the hours when I am sleeping or too busy to do anything other than run around like a crazy person.

Naturally all of this coincided with my laptop being filled to exploding point.  I really had to transfer files and photos if I wanted to be able to look at and edit photos from my new camera.  I began to concentrate once again culling photos in a systematic fashion and moving them to the external drive so that I could upload them off-peak when I had the chance.  I spent hours going through just the photos from 2008.  I managed to transfer all the photos from January to November 2008 with the plan to finish transfing the remainder of 2008 tonight.

Fast forward to about an hour ago, the kids were asleep, the house put back together, the laundry caught up to date and the floors done.   I sat down with my laptop and planned to transfer the photos.  I plugged in the external hard drive nothing happened.  I used all my help desk knowledge and restarted the laptop.  Still no joy.  I unplugged the external drive and went to plug it back in except there was no where to plug it in.  The little port/plug/thingy that the usb cable goes in to was gone and there was something rattling around the case.  I was now the proud owner of a pretty little metal case of uselessness.

Now of course there is a chance that the drive can be repaired but I am afraid to take it in to anywhere to get it fixed – it has almost a years worth of photos and I don’t really want it to leave my side, yet it is totally useless if it is just sitting here.  I seem to be capable of permanently losing photos that are important to me and I am afraid that they will be gone forever, like the photos of climbing Rangitoto on our last trip to New Zealand.  This time the photo loss was courtesy of a dodgy SD card that allowed me to take 4 gig of photos before magically becoming unformatted!  Go figure.  Perhaps all of this is a sign to say stop buying things online or maybe it is a suggestion to not learn how to use my camera and take photos?  I feel like the world is conspiring against me and my ability to keep photos.  Perhaps I should go back to the old fashioned concept of printing the photos although with my luck there is likely to be a very localised fire that burned only my photos.

As you can tell, I am in a pretty crappy defeatist mood right now.  The upside of venting here is that I no longer want to throw my laptop or the defunct external drive.  I still however want to cry when I think of all the photos that at the moment don’t exist.  Hopefully the piece of the drive that has detached itself from the inner working can be reattached and all will be restored with my equilibrium.  I really need to get the kids blog up to date that way if everything else is destroyed at least there will be a document of what the kids have achieved and enjoyed.  In the meantime though, I think I will hibernate from the world of gadgets and electronic stuff that I seem to destroy.

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “

  1. FFG

    April 29, 2010 at 10:26 am

    You are bringing back too many memories of my near nervous breakdown right before Christmas. Of course, I have to say that I would rather lose 18 months of work than our personal photos, but don’t tell my boss. My heart goes out to you!!!

     
    • superrelish

      April 29, 2010 at 11:33 pm

      Thanks. I am trying to stay up extra late to begin uploading photos to flickr but I am not sure I will make it till midnight. I really should as I did find more photos to add to the list of MIA- photos from a work function recently that I transferred for safe keeping and I am mildly freaking out a little more. I don’t know what I would have done if I lost 18 months of work but I know it wouldn’t be pretty.

      Fingers crossed the hard drive is working again. Sean was able to pull apart another drive and somehow join the two together or something to make mine work. Of course it is formatted to my mac and not his pc so he doesn’t know if it works or not. I am still too afraid to try it for fear that it didn’t work, I don’t want to go to bed frazzled and upset again tonight so I will try to forget about it for now.

      If it doesn’t work I will try to get it fixed by someone who knows what they are doing, but who can I trust my memories too? No doubt the dead drive will sit in a basket with other dead or dying electronic equipment until we can no longer remember why they are there.

       
  2. Leiani

    April 29, 2010 at 2:43 pm

    I too had an external drive full of photos and other docs die on me for no apparant reason about a year ago. So far it’s sitting in my kitchen drawer. I know I should take is somewhere to see what they can recover but it’s too precious to risk someone tinkering with it. I know how hard it must be to hold back the screaming. Sometimes life is just not fair.

     

Leave a Reply

 
