RSS

My Princess and her Hair

21 Apr

I am tired and unmotivated but I have so much to do.  I should be uploading photos to flickr but instead I am flicking through photos.  In good news, man-child was able to recover most of thousands and thousands of photos that were trapped on our busted drive.  Naturally the ones that were the most elusive were the ones that I wanted most, the photos from our US adventures.  Luckily some were saved, just not the pics from New York.  I guess that means we will have to head back there just to get more photos!

Just looking at this photo reminded me not only of the fun times in New Jersey but also of the bad hair that girl-child had.

My Little Mullet Girl

So now I present the story of my princess and her hair!

As a baby girl-child girl-child didn’t have much in the way of hair and what she did have was dark.

18 Hours Old and Heading Home

The dark hair fell out and was replaced by fine downy blonde hair and was practically bald.  Finally by the time she was one she had some hair, not much but enough to do something to make her look like a little girl.

Present Ribbon Makes a Great Headband

Then came mullet phase that you can see from the photo at the top and this fuzzy photo, fluffy hair gem.

Bouncy Babe

Finally she had hair, real hair, beautiful long blonde hair and oh boy, that is when my fun began.  I love doing hair and luckily she loves having here hair done, especially in the most extravagant, not really suitable for school styles possible.  My excuse is that if her hair is in braids, buns, twists or at the very least tied back there is less chance for creepy crawlies to move in!

Crowning Beauty

Quick and Simple

Just Because

And (other than nits) this is what happens if she doesn’t wear her hair tied up!

Static

Having dance concerts to perform at gives me an excuse to go over the top!

Anastasia Hair (first dance concert, 4 years old!)

Cute with Curls (second dance concert, 5 years old)

OK, that is enough time wasting and flicking through photos.  I MUST begin to upload old photos to flickr before they disappear again!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on April 21, 2010 in randomness

 

Tags: ,

6 responses to “My Princess and her Hair

  1. Leiani

    April 21, 2010 at 4:04 pm

    Seeing these cute photos, sorta makes me wish I’d had a little girl, so I could do all these girlie things with her. *sigh* Boys are great and all but they draw the line at pretty pink dresses and letting me put bows in their hair!

     
    • superrelish

      April 21, 2010 at 5:16 pm

      All the prettiness does come at a price. Already she is aware of cliques, bitchiness and the importance of dressing appropriately, or in her case inappropriately if she dresses like some of the singers she likes. She is only 6, I thought I would have a few more years before I would have to deal with it all.

      Oh and I do have a boy who on occasion has let me put bows and things in his hair however he won’t admit to it now!

       
  2. Ali

    April 21, 2010 at 5:32 pm

    She has such lovely hair now – and she’s lucky to have a Mummy who can create such elaborate styles for her! Grub, at 22months has a little less hair than girl-child did at her first birthday! Oh – happy birthday for last week!
    xx

     
    • superrelish

      April 21, 2010 at 6:45 pm

      Thank you and thank you. Before you know it, Grub will have as much hair as Boo and you will have to stalk the same blogs I do for hair inspiration and step by step instructions!

       
  3. Trish

    April 21, 2010 at 11:27 pm

    She is gorgeous totally – I love the static and the last one.
    My boys hardly had any hair till 2 and everyone still asked if they were girls …

     
    • superrelish

      April 22, 2010 at 11:36 pm

      My boy was always mistaken for a girl, even if he was wearing blue overalls or outfits with boyish prints yet Boo was thought of as a boy even when dressed in frilly dresses or all in pink, a colour I vowed that she would never be dressed in!

      I just don’t get why people must say what a cute boy/girl if they have no idea. Why couldn’t they simply say something like what a cute baby, how old? So you could reply he is 2 months or she is almost 6 months or similar! Even just asking what your baby’s name is allowing you to say his name is…

       

Leave a Reply

 
