RSS

Organisation Queen-In-Training

07 Apr

When I grow up, I want to be like Leiani – she is organised, well composed and if this post is anything to go by, extremely clean.  All admirable qualities I would like to call my own.

Leiani has a day-by-day plan outlining what she needs to do and when it needs to be done.  Now I know that many people just say that is over the top but I am mildly OCD so knowing exactly what needs to be done, and when it will be done is comforting to me.  It will leave more space in my head to think about other irrelevancies like what on earth are we going to eat today?  I guess I need to menu plan but that is something that seems a little too overwhelming to do just yet!  Surely it is much easier to just complain every day about having to decide what to prepare.

As of now, I am officially working full time but I am on holidays.  What I mean by that is that I don’t have to go in to work every day but will be called in randomly, like this afternoon and again tomorrow!  I will be back at work properly after the holidays and I need to work out what I am going to do to be able to get everything done and perhaps stay sane.  Ideally I would like the house clean before the weekend so that I get a chance to actually relax but that may be just too much to ask for.  I would also like to start exercising regularly, start riding to work on days that I am not rushed, eat well and get enough sleep so that I am not Mama-Cranykpants.

So my week as I know it will be as follows

Monday

7.00  Drag my sorry butt out of bed and wish it wasn’t Monday.   Ensure kids eat breakfast even if it means making it for them, prepare lunches, contemplate dinner, listen to home readers, listen to boy-child practice clarinet, pack a snack bag for after school.  Do girl-child’s hair and cross my fingers hoping it will stay in almost all week.  Spray both kids heads with nit-repellant stay in hair conditioner.  Wish for more time to have a decent shower.  Rant and rave a little and I think I am done.

8.30  Leave for School, turn around and come back to get the clarinet and next term the guitar for girl-child’s lessons.

9.00  Work insanely for 6 or so hours.  Wish I had external email access and be a part of the real world.

3.15 – 3.45  Lunch break and pick up the kids from school, drag them back to work as I facilitate kids sport activities.

5.30  Work is done, head home and imagine dinner a reality.

6.00  Feed the hungry herd of monsters.

6.30  Throw the monsters into the hot-tub as I clean up the dinner mess.

7.00  Off to bed for the monsters.  Contemplate going to bed myself.

7.30  Turn the lights off in the kids room and request quiet.

8.00  Look around and realise the house is a mess, become overwhelmed and crawl onto the couch to read blogs.

Tuesday

7.00  Drag my sorry butt out of bed and wish it wasn’t Tuesday, throw something in the slow cooker and cross my fingers hoping it will be edible when we get home at dinner time.  Ensure kids eat breakfast even if it means making it for them, prepare lunches, listen to home readers, listen to boy-child practice clarinet, pack a snack bag for after school.  Tidy up girl-child’s hair.  Wish for more time to have a decent shower.  Rant and rave a little and I think I am done.

8.30  Leave for School

9.00  Work insanely for 6 or so hours.  Wish I had external email access and be a part of the real world.

3.15 – 3.45  Lunch break and pick up the kids from school, drag them back to work as I facilitate another kids sport activity.

5.45  Work is done, head home and imagine dinner a reality.

6.00 – 6.15  Feed the hungry herd of monsters in the shortest amount of time possible.  Screech a lot to get boy-child to eat dinner in a hurry so he can get changed for Cub Scouts.  Cross my fingers and hope man-child is home from work to take boy-child to Cubs.  Take boy-child to Cubs.

6.45  The boy is  at Cubs, clean up dinner mess.  Get girl-child ready for bed.  Entertain said girl-child who gets lonely when home alone.

7.50 – 8.10  Depending on man-child’s basketball schedule, collect boy-child from Cubs.

8.15  Re-feed the now ravenous (again) boy-child.  Girl-child imagines that she is hungry again and eats more too.

8.20  Give up on the concept of the kids showering tonight and beg them to go to bed so that I can watch NCIS have peace and quiet.

6.25  Try to get the kids into bed.  Find the shortest book to read to them and run downstairs to watch NCIS.

8.35  Get annoyed that the getting the kids to bed took too long and I missed the start of NCIS.

9.35  Realise that I am tired and need to go to bed, instead watch NCIS: LA.

10.35  Contemplate going to bed myself.  Look around and realise the house is a mess, become overwhelmed and crawl into bed.

Wednesday

7.00  Drag my sorry butt out of bed and wish it wasn’t Wednesday.   Ensure kids eat breakfast even if it means making it for them, prepare lunches, contemplate dinner, listen to home readers, listen to boy-child practice clarinet, pack a snack bag for after school.  Re-do girl-child’s hair and cross my fingers hoping it will stay in for the rest of the week.  Spray both kids heads with nit-repellant stay in hair conditioner.  Remind boy-child to wear his sneakers to school and to find his tennis racquet.  Pack a mini snack bag for after school.  Wish for more time to have a decent shower.  Rant and rave a little and I think I am done.

8.00  Realise that I am running late and leave for work at another location, much further away from home.

3.00  Hope that the course I was running for the day is finished so that I can drive back to collect the kids from school.

3.30  School pick-up.  Hurry home so that boy child has a chance to eat something before his tennis lesson at 4.

3.50  Convince boy-child to walk to and from his tennis lesson on his own.  Use the time to get something ready for dinner.

5.30 -7.45 Head back to work for a meeting.  Cross my fingers and hope that the meeting caterers turned up.

OR  6.00  Feed the hungry herd of monsters and quite possibly neighbours and dance fans.

6.30  Throw the monsters into the hot-tub as I clean up the dinner mess.

7.00  Off to bed for the monsters.

7.30  Turn the lights off in the kids room and request quiet.

8.00  Wish I had time to de-bomb the house but instead settle in on the couch to watch So You Think You Can Dance.  Tweet friends constantly throughout, even if they are on the other end of the couch!

10.00 or whenever SYTYCD finishes, drive a friend home.

10.30 Realise that no cleaning was done again today.

Thursday

7.00  Drag my sorry butt out of bed and be thankful it is the downhill slide to the weekend.   Ensure kids eat breakfast even if it means making it for them, prepare lunches, contemplate dinner, listen to home readers, listen to boy-child practice clarinet, pack a snack bag for after school.  Neaten girl-child’s hair and cross my fingers hoping it will stay in at least for dancing tonight.  Spray both kids heads with nit-repellant stay in hair conditioner.  Wish for more time to have a decent shower.  Rant and rave a little and I think I am done.

8.30  Leave for School.  Possibly even ride to school with the kids!

9.00  Work insanely for 6 or so hours.  Wish I had external email access and be a part of the real world.

3.15  Head back to school to pick up the monsters.

3.45 – 4.10  Get the kids to get ready for dancing, throw something into the oven for dinner, grab the snack bag, encourage the kids to get their dance bags (check to see that they actually have their dance bags so I don’t have to turn around and go back to get them) and head to dancing.

4.30 – 5.30  Boy-child’s dance class

5 – 6.15 Girl-child’s dance class

4.30 – 6.15 Find a quiet space in the studio foyer to catch up on work.

6.20  Head home to feed the hungry herd of monsters.

6.30  Dinner time.

7.00  Throw the monsters into the shower if I can be bothered or have time.

after 7.00  Get the monsters into bed as quickly as possible before I head off to netball at whatever time the game is.  If I have time before the game, clean up the dinner mess as man-child prepares for a poker night.

after netball  Sit around chatting to poker players before showering and tumbling into bed to read blogs on my phone.

Friday

7.00  Woo Hoo, it’s Friday!   Ensure kids eat breakfast even if it means making it for them, prepare lunches (give in to the kids and pack a jelly or muesli bar in their lunch box), listen to home readers, listen to boy-child practice clarinet.  Fix girl-child’s hair not really worrying about how messy it is, it is Friday after all!  Forget to spray both kids heads with nit-repellant stay in hair conditioner.  Wish for more time to have a decent shower.  Rant and rave a little and I think I am done.

8.30  Leave for School, perhaps even ride if we have time.

9.00  Work insanely for 6 or so hours.  Wish I had external email access and be a part of the real world.

3.15  Head back to school to get the kids.

3.30  Take as long as possible to return home from school knowing that the longer it takes the closer to bed time it is, also if we aren’t at home we aren’t making mess!

6.00  Feed the hungry heard of monsters some left overs or take away because I really can’t be bothered.

7.00  Listen to the kids beg for a sleep over or a late night or something else exhausting.

7.30  Throw the monsters and any other monsters who may be lingering around into the hot-tub as I clean up the dinner mess.

8.00  Off to bed for the monsters.  Contemplate going to bed myself.

8.30  Look around and realise the house is a mess.  Wish that the house was clean so that I can chill out for the weekend.  Realise that it is a futile wish, become overwhelmed and crawl onto the couch to read blogs.

So that is a typical week here, now all I have to do is add in when fun things like shopping, washing and cleaning will be done.  Any suggestions?

I think I need to be like Leiani and designate an area of the house that needs tending to each day so that I know they will be done.  I could put on a oad of washing each day but that would mean that each day there would be a load of washing that needed hanging out and then a load of washing that needed putting away and I despise putting washing away almost as much as I hate hanging out the load full of socks and jocks!  The floors do get swept every other day but mopping them?  Well that is far less frequent and I tend to spot clean bits and pieces.  In fact I prepared to mop the floors last Monday by stacking the chairs on the table, rearranging the lounge furniture and sweeping but it still took until Thursday afternoon to get the floors clean.  In the meantime we merely had picnics for each meal!

Vacuuming is as infrequent as mopping but my excuse has been that there is renovation mess in the way.  The ensuite should be finished and a shower screen installed in a couple of weeks so I really have no excuse then.  Dusting happens when we are expecting visitors or I am super motivated.  As a result we encourage people to drop in unannounced so I don’t feel the need to clean in advance!

During the holidays I had grand plans to do a real Spring Clean and get rid of more crap so that there is less to clean around but I think that is wishful thinking!  In actual fact I have just realised that I have to head in to work shortly, am working a long day tomorrow and then will head off to collect the monsters.  I will be back in town on Saturday to go to work for another long day on Sunday before beginning the school madness again on Monday.  Perhaps I could spend my time now writing a to-do list, planning the order of cleaning, begin a clean up or just simply relaxing and enjoying the last attempt at a day off that this holiday will bring and worry about the mess and madness next week.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on April 7, 2010 in and they call this work

 

Tags: ,

6 responses to “Organisation Queen-In-Training

  1. Bec

    April 7, 2010 at 4:05 pm

    I’ve just got a new iphone application – called home routine. It is based on the flylady stuff, and you can customise it pretty well too. Now just to actually do it … 🙂

     
    • superrelish

      April 7, 2010 at 10:30 pm

      OOOOH, I had better get that app, I need all the help I can get. Ta!

       
  2. Leiani

    April 8, 2010 at 11:12 pm

    Oh I had to laugh, your week is just crazy!!!! And who is this Leiani who is so wonderful and organised?! LOL. Yes I have my week planned, but I don’t always manage to do it all – but one can only try. Good luck with your organisation, you have a lot on your plate I see, so no wonder you find it hard to get time for housework. But a little is better than none. PS. you’re gonna hate me but I menu plan too. Maybe I should cover that in another post!

     
    • superrelish

      April 9, 2010 at 10:27 am

      Yes please. A not so subtle prompt to menu plan would be great. What would be even better would be for you to post your menu plan that I can just cut and paste! Quick easy meals or slow cooker are a must around here. I am looking forward to colder weather and soups. YUM

       
  3. Trish

    April 12, 2010 at 12:44 pm

    oh my that is some plan !
    how is it going ?
    I need to take some tips … I am so unorgainised or disorganised & misorganised (meaning I do things the wrong way about lol …does that make any sense)
    I think I might go make some pumpkin soup !

     
    • superrelish

      April 13, 2010 at 12:02 am

      mmm, pumpkin soup sounds great.

      I haven’t truly begun my life of madness yet – I am still trying to take holidays but keep up ending up at work so my holidays get extended again. As a result I am only working a few days this week and next so I hope to get on top of all the mess and actually be organised.

      Oh and I think that Sean would say that I am mis-organised, I make even more mess in the process of cleaning!

       

Leave a Reply

 
