RSS

Earth Hour

27 Mar

Well Earth Hour is almost upon us.  The kids are tucked up all snuggly in their beds, the kittens are about to ramp up into their skitty-kitty mode and I am about to turn the lights off.  I was in a mild panic thinking that I had mere minutes from tucking the kids into bed and turning off all of the lights but a quick google to try and find the ‘rules’ and I was relieved to see I had a full half hour to prepare, so what do I do?  Blog of course, without reading the rules.

I know that all the lights get turned off but other than that, I have no idea.  I really should put a torch in the kids room just in case they wake, perhaps even light a few candles for the study outside their room for a little ambient lighting.  But what about the TV, is the TV allowed to be on?  Man-child is watching the footy and may be peeved when I try to turn it off.  I am guessing that if I am insisting on doing my bit for the environment I should shut my laptop for an hour.  Perhaps I can use this hour to soak in the hot tub, even with the power turned off it will still be steaming hot.  Yep, that will be my plan.

So now the candles are lit, the TV is about to be turned off, the hot tub opened and a bottle of wine to be opened.  Sounds like a great way to end the day.

Happy Earth Hour

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 27, 2010 in all in the family

 

Tags:

One response to “Earth Hour

  1. Leiani

    March 27, 2010 at 10:26 pm

    Hope you enjoyed your Earth Hour and managed a nice long soak in the tub! Ours is soon upon us, but like you I’m not sure if Del will happily give up the tv. Maybe if I turn everything else off, and we only have the tv on? Will that count?

     

Leave a Reply

 
