RSS

Eye Scream

17 Mar

I wandered downstair around lunch time thinking that instead of watching the paint dry in the bathroom I would watch TV, eat something other than chocolate and contemplate what we could eat for dinner whilst researching a frock to wear out to dinner tomorrow night.  A simple plan, a relaxing plan also.  That must be why the plans fell apart.

I did wander downstairs flicked on the TV to see what Ellen was up to, grabbed the laptop, some crackers and dip and settled in for an hour or so of relaxation.  The cats were all asleep on the mat by the back door, basking in the sunshine.  When I finished my crackers and crumpled the packaging, waking the kittens.  Lucky decided to jump up on the stool to find a more comfortable resting place.  He was facing away from me but something didn’t look quite right about his face.  It was like I could see his eyeball from behind, much in the way you can see where a frog’s eye is from behind the frog.  I tried to imagine that my over-active imagination was working double speed but I had to check to be sure.  At this stage the kitten had curled back up into a ball and was asleep again.  I was feeling relieved until he lifted his head slightly.  His eyes were open however his right eyeball was very swollen and his inner eyelid was visible and covering most of his eyeball.

Have I ever mentioned that I have a think about eyeballs – they freak me the hell out.  Blood and guts I can deal with, watching a baby being born with the assistance of forceps not a problem.  Eyeballs?  I just can’t go there.  Instead of looking like this

Snuggly Lucky

my poor fury baby looked more like this

A Look-Alike for Lucky

Very misshapen shape but still happy.  Naturally I freaked the hell out, my heart was pounding and the thought of eyeballs exploding or falling out was  making me nauseous, which led to thoughts of post eggplant dip vomit and more nausea.  I had to distract myself by being productive, I had a vet clinic to call and a cat carrier to find.  The vet nurse was great and said to bring him straight in.  Luckily Lucky climbed straight into his carrier and Tornado tried to climb in with him.  Tornado was quite upset when he wasn’t allowed to go with Lucky but I didn’t have time to sit around, we had a vet appointment.

The vet was wonderful however his eyeball was so swollen that even with anesthetic drops in his eye the third eyelid wouldn’t move.  I had to leave him there for them to drug him up on anti-inflammatories to see what is actually happening to the eyeball.  So now I am waiting.  Procrastinating again, this time with a lonely Tornado on my lap.

Edited to add – News just in, the vet clinic called and the swelling has started to go down.  We can drop in on the way home from school to see how he is doing.  For now, I am waiting and snuggling.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 17, 2010 in things that make you go grrr

 

Tags: ,

4 responses to “Eye Scream

  1. Lou

    March 17, 2010 at 10:14 pm

    As I scrolled down, I was worried that I was about to see an actual photo of his eye. Ewww.
    Glad he’s okay.

     
  2. Susan

    March 18, 2010 at 2:47 am

    Ewww, I have a thing about eyeballs too! I’m glad the swelling is going down, such a strange thing to happen. Here’s hoping he lives up to his name!

     
  3. Susie

    March 18, 2010 at 2:51 am

    I realized just as I hit submit that I was logged into my old blog. I need to figure out how to completly switch over…

     
  4. Leiani

    March 18, 2010 at 5:34 pm

    Poor kitty. Glad he’s doing better now.

     

Leave a Reply

 
