RSS

Feeling Old?

12 Mar

Can you believe that we have known each other for half of our lives?  I know that doesn’t seem like such a huge thing but we didn’t meet each other until we were in our final year of high school.  I think that means that we are kinda old now!

Best Friends

How young were we then, and more importantly how did you ever let me wear those glasses?  Talk about hideous!

In the 17 and a bit years that we have known each other we have had some great times.  From inline skating adventures during year 12 when I didn’t get the concept of thinking before skating down hills (and the subsequent injuries, including concussion!) to skating around Winton Raceway in a competition promo.

Your house was my home away from home.  During the summer at the end of high school I spent as much time at your house as I did at my own.  In fact I think I spent more time at your house.  Your family was and still is my family.

Even when you were in Japan you were still a part of my life.  You would sit there and listen to the tantrums via skype and marvel at the dramatics of two little monsters running riot.  We chatted almost daily when you were away, sharing not only the exciting but the sad, bad and mundane.  You were a part of everything that I did.  I can never thank you enough for convincing man-child that I needed to visit you in Tokyo for your last week in Japan.  It was an amazing week.  I am looking forward to spending more time with you in Japan later this year.

You are the fairy god mother to both of my children and you are my best friend.  Thank you for being you.

B & S Bound

And to think, way back then we thought we were soooo grown up!  Happy Olds Day 🙂

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Feeling Old?

  1. Ellen

    March 12, 2010 at 11:23 pm

    Oh, crap… You made me get a tear in my eye. Love you too. Friends FOREVER! I mean that!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

     
  2. Juice

    March 12, 2010 at 11:56 pm

    What a beautiful piece! I especially love the pics though. What incredibly great memories! Happy Birthday EEEE

     
  3. Ali

    March 13, 2010 at 5:54 pm

    What a lovely post. I love all the photos! Happy birthday to Ellen.

     

Leave a Reply

 
