RSS

Delusional

03 Mar

The theme for the month is Strange(R) but I don’t really have much to write about that is strange so I have modified the theme ever so slightly for the night to delusional.  My latest delusional discussion was with my direct manager.  I wandered in to her office to talk about when I was going to take my leave as I have 20 days to take by end of financial year, as well as another dozen days of time in lieu.  Now as someone who works only 4 days a week, taking 32 days leave equates to 8 weeks of leave over a 4 months period.  As delightful as that sounds, work just doesn’t stop when I am on leave, in fact it just piles up and gets messier and creates more work.   After much chatting the end result was me submitting an application to increase my hours so that I work full time.  My manager agreed but had to send it through to the big boss people for official approval but it shouldn’t be a problem.

EEEK – full time, 80 hours a fortnight!  It was starting to freak me out, then I realised that I worked 70 last fortnight and was only paid for 60 so surely I can work an extra 10 hours a fortnight.  But still full time plus running around after kids, to and from their activities and attempting to be domestic occasionally was beginning to freak me out.  In order to soothe my freaking out mind, we also discussed a plan of attack to not ruin the work/life balance that I almost have now.  The end result is for me to take at least one day of leave a week until it is under control and then we will reassess my working hours.  (Did I mention that I have a great manager?)  So in reality, I will now get paid for the hours I work, get accrued time off and still work only part-time-ish hours.   Not a bad outcome, even if I am still freaking out about the concept of calling myself a full time employee.

On a totally unrelated topic, almost, I had to head back to work this evening for a meeting so man-child had to deal with the dinner  fiasco.  As I walked out the door I mentioned that there was a frittata in the fridge that needed heating for dinner.  I had just settled in at my meeting and felt my phone buzz with a message.  Discretely I checked my message to read, “Kids think they are having retarder for dinner.  Tried to say frittata but…”  I know that it was completely inappropriate but I thought it was hysterical.  Perhaps it is time that I take a holiday, I really am delusional.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 3, 2010 in all about me, just a day

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “Delusional

  1. Susie

    March 4, 2010 at 4:44 pm

    That’s not delusional…it worked out great!

    Good for you for taking on March…I’m doing it privately because I couldn’t commit to one theme!

     
  2. Leiani

    March 4, 2010 at 7:48 pm

    Well done sorting out your working arrangement and ensuring you achieve the work/life balance. I’m trying to do that at the moment, but working from home makes it a little more intertwined. Plus taking on a new additional role, for no more money is frustrating. Glad to hear that your man can take on the dinner hour for you!

     
  3. PB

    March 5, 2010 at 10:17 am

    Good luck with the work thing. Sounds like things worked out well. Hopefully we can still find time to catch up amongst all the madness. Mayeb lunch one day?? (you do get a lunch break don’t you??)

     

Leave a Reply

 
