RSS

Holiday Boy

05 Jan

A week ago I was at my folks, making plans about returning home when boy-child announced that he didn’t want to go home, he wanted to stay for another 2, no another 3 weeks.  I really didn’t think much of it, he has said that he wants to stay longer in the past but he changes his mind at the last minute, packs his bag and jumps in to the car.  We were sure that he wouldn’t stay on his own and girl-child didn’t want to stay.

Contrary to what we all expected, the following day I returned home, man-child and girl-child returned home also but was adamant that he was going to stay.  That was almost a week ago.  I keep expecting a phone call to say ‘I want to come home’ but apparently that won’t be happening he is clearly having too much fun.

The little boy that I know, my little boy is shy and introverted.  I don’t know what has happened but the little boy that stayed away on holidays is a different little boy.  Not only is he going out meeting people, he is talking to people (politely too I hear) and making friends.  He will now wander to visit a friend and ask to come and play ON HIS OWN.  This is the same little boy who will normally hide behind someone’s leg as they knock on the door.  He has met more cousins than he knew he even had and has even spent the day with one group of cousins, playing all day long on the waterslide.  He is happy and healthy and willing to chat on the phone and on skype endlessly, even to his sister who is missing him dearly.

My Independent Little Boy

Not that I am complaining, the transformation is amazing but where did my little boy go and where did this strong and independent boy come from?

I miss you my little gunky, see you on the weekend.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 5, 2010 in all in the family

 

Tags:

One response to “Holiday Boy

  1. Susie

    January 6, 2010 at 4:52 pm

    Awww…your baby is growing up. It’s one of those bittersweet moments.

     

Leave a Reply

 
