RSS

2010, day 1

01 Jan

I have plans to write a long winded post wrapping up 2010 and outlining where I am at and what I want to do in 2010.  I want to write about how I am superstitious about the start of the year believing that the way the new year is introduced is a reflection of what the new year will have in store but instead I am too busy actually having a life to sit and write about what I want.  Instead I give you a brief recap of the beginning of 2010…

My New Years celebrations were very quiet, we had a picnic with friends in the park and managed to flee just before the storm began.  We than sat on the balcony at the neighbours, in the rain watching natures light display – amazing lightning and thunder.  When the rain got heavier and the family fireworks in the city began we went inside and watched the fireworks from the bathroom window.  This was followed by a session of Wii RockStar that I wasn’t really in to (read:  I don’t sing or play any instrument, nor do I care to even if it is a toy that even a child can master!).  Fortunately girl-child began to yawn and rub her eyes as the game became too competitive so we left before it got too messy.

I heralded in the New Year snug in my bed, actually on top of my bed, despite the rain it was still really hot!  I only knew that the New Year had commenced courtesy of the fireworks in the city.  I could hear them but I was too cozy in bed to wander over to the window to look at them.  I dozed off shortly thereafter and didn’t wake until after 8 this morning, surely a great start to the day.

The day continued in a fantastic fashion with a trip to the zoo with beautiful people, old friends and new.

Beautiful & Crazy Girls

Boy-child also called to say that he is having a fantastic holiday and reports from my parents say he is being very independent and outgoing, very not like him but a welcome change.  Also friends came over for dinner and girl-child has a friend over to stay, to keep her busy.  The only down side to the day?  Man-child groaning like and old man; everything hurts but not in a flu like way more like overuse injuries from too much Lego Rock Band on the Wii!  I am not sure what that says of the year to come for him, hopefully it is indicative of enough spare time to game  and have fun rather than a reflection of injuries to come.

In other areas of my life, if my superstitions are to be believed, my 2010 should involve sleep ins, great company, friends near and far and of course fun.  That sure is something to look forward too. Happy New Year.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 1, 2010 in all about me

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “2010, day 1

  1. Ellen

    January 2, 2010 at 8:01 am

    Yesterday was great fun… THANKS!

     
  2. Susan

    January 2, 2010 at 12:15 pm

    Sounds like you have a great year in store for you!

    I am SO cracking up about getting sore from playing rockband

     

Leave a Reply

 
