RSS

Wagging, Washing and WOW

15 Dec

So we wagged dancing rehearsals tonight because the kids were tired and miserable, yawning at 4 pm.  Despite actually looking forward to sitting in relative peace and quiet for a few completely uninterrupted hours it is much better that the kids get to sleep early in readiness for the madness that is the rest of the week.

Instead of having the super-early night that I had anticipated a friend dropped by for a welfare check and a chat after hearing about last nights melodrama and this threw out my schedule – we had some baking to do for class end of year parties tomorrow.  As the cakes were in the oven, the kids had dinner and jumped in the hot tub to wash so we didn’t lose too much time.  We were on track for an early night then somehow we played role reversal – the kids were adults and the adults were kids.  We were sent to bed and the kids read us books.  It kind of freaked me out some of the comments that the kids were coming up with, things like “Good night darling, make sure you don’t wake your  brother in the morning” and “Now I am just going downstairs to clean the kitchen, I will check on you in a few minutes” and “I am going to clean up all this mess in your room, the cleaner won’t know where it all goes – you know you should really clean it up yourselves!”

As I was laying there listening to the stories that were being read to me I was also listening to the music that was playing on the iPod – one of my favourite artists Coby Grant.  My favourite song When I Was Young came on and it made me think about how true the song is for me and no doubt for many others.  It begins with a variation of a childhood rhyme that first had me intrigued…

Miss Mary Mac Mac Mac

All dressed in Black Black Black

With silver buttons buttons buttons

All down her back back back

She asked her mother mother mother

For fifty cents cents cents

But nowadays that don’t buy you nothin’

Followed by…

I’m supposed to be a woman but I still feel like a girl

Even though I have grown up tall I still feel small in this big world

The candles that I am blowing are adding up as time goes by

I used to wish to be a grown-up but I miss the girl inside

but this is my favourite part…

Oh those days of play dates in my friend’s backyard,

Sand pit spades, dress ups, potions, monkey bars,

Now we’re paying off our debt,

Dealing with our daily stress,

If I could just forget I’d go back to when

I was young

This makes me think about how simple life was as a kid when the biggest dilemma was what to do after school; climb trees, play dolls, build cubby houses, bake cakes, ride bikes or go on adventures.  It was a great time but I digress, I need to get to the point of this post, the bit that makes me go WOW.  I googled Coby to make sure that I got the lyrics correct, (I did, I listen to it often enough and it is girl-child’s favourite song) and procrastinated by reading through other parts of her site and found a link to her YouTube channel and her latest song.  Not only did I love the new song, the film clip was shot at my local bar where I am going for dinner tomorrow night!

How did I not know that this was being filmed?  Where was I and why wasn’t I consulted!?!  I can’t wait until February when the new EP is released, I will have to get along to a gig and check it out.


 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 15, 2009 in just a day

 

Tags: ,

One response to “Wagging, Washing and WOW

  1. Ali

    December 17, 2009 at 10:25 pm

    That’s cool about the film clip. The audio on my laptop is having some sort of mini breakdown so I can’t listen until it resurrects itself, which I’m hoping will happen without intervention from me, wishful thinking. I hope the stresses begin to ease over the Christmas period.
    x

     

Leave a comment