RSS

Injury Update and What to Wear

26 Nov

Well the boy had a restless nights sleep, talking a lot and tossing and turning but he did sleep.  He doesn’t seem to be in too much pain today so I am assuming that he is following the Dr Google that claims the injury is self healing.  He can keep his arm in a sling for a few days until he feels comfortable moving it again.  At least if it is in a sling he will be less inclined to run around and climb trees.  He can go to his orthopedic appointment next week to make sure that there will be no other underlying issues and fingers crossed all will be well with the world of little boy elbow injuries.

As for the big boy elbow issues, well it too seems to be healing well.  His arm is out of the techno-brace that it has been in for the past month.  He begins physio next week and is looking forward to playing sport again eventually.  Unfortunately eventually won’t be for at least another 4 months.  It is going to be a long 4 months but at least there is light at the end of the injury tunnel for both of my boys.

In the rest of my world, I have been in to work, emailed home everything that needs to be done and isn’t likely to be done today or tomorrow.  The biggest dilemma I face is what to wear tonight to my swanky work do.  Now there seems to be 3 trains of thought as to what a ‘day dress’ is;

  1. A more casual version of what you would wear to work, that you would also wear out and still feel comfortable
  2. A nice dress but one without shiny glitz and glam of evening wear
  3. A dressy outfit but with casual accessories and flat shoes, what you would wear to a day wedding

Now there really isn’t much that I can wear that is more casual than what I normally wear to work – shorts or jeans and tshirts!  I guess it is referring to what normal business-like women would wear to work.  I do have a nice grey dress that would be suitable for someone who did work in a professional environment that I would feel comfortable wearing out in a professional like arena.  I also have a dress that I love that I have worn to weddings, it is summery and pretty and yellow.

Looking at the definitions above, either dress could be deemed appropriate.  I often like to wear loud clothes but this might not be the most appropriate time to be loud and visible, it might suggest that I know what I am doing.  With that in mind, perhaps I will wear the grey dress.  Or change my mind again later.  Why can’t they just have a real dress code that makes sense?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 26, 2009 in just a day

 

Tags: ,

One response to “Injury Update and What to Wear

  1. Ali

    November 26, 2009 at 2:22 pm

    Yeah, that is an odd dresscode. I went to a party recently that had poolside glam as it’s dresscode. That sent me in all sorts of directions. I think that the middle definition sounds about right but I’m sure any dress would be appropriate as long as it’s not a ball gown!

     

Leave a Reply

 
