RSS

Knit Big

24 Nov

I knit, I don’t knit very well, I don’t know how to follow patterns or do anything fancy but still I CAN knit.

Christening Hat

Christening Hat

I am slow and get bored easily so I only make small items.  Generally I make, well actually the only thing I make is baby hats.  I like to think they are funky and unique.  This is one of my favourites, I made it for girl-child’s Christening not long after I re-learnt to knit.

I guess what I am trying to say is that knitting is fun but it is time consuming.  At my super snail-paced knitting speed it takes me an evening to make each hat, sometimes longer depending on what is on tv.  I would love to have more time to knit, or be able to knit at a speed that I could make something other than a hat before my fingers feel like they are going to drop off.

Tonight we went for a wander down to the river to see if the rumoured  Big Knit was taking place.  What we found was a group of artists working on their knitting project.  Now this is no normal knitting project, the aim is to knit a cover for the stock bridge that crosses the river.  This bridge is huge and soon will be covered in bright amazing knitting.

Big Knitting

Rolls of brightly coloured plastic were cut into strips and knitted together on pieces of pvc pipe.  The knitting was laid out on the parkland beside the bike path.  It is really hard to convey the sheer size of the pieces that were already knitted.

Orange Knitting

Hopefully seeing cars and stables in the background will covey the enormity of the knitting.

We sat by the giant knitting, watching the artists working.  Girl-child and her friend had a great time watching and also collecting pieces of scrap ‘wool’.  They plan to make themselves some costumes to wear to a dance party that will celebrate the dressing of the bridge on Saturday.

Fancy Dress

It looks like we are now going to a dance party on Saturday!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 24, 2009 in just a day

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Knit Big

  1. Ali

    November 24, 2009 at 10:57 pm

    I like to knit and am not bad but tend to get bored as well. I currently have a fancy patterned scarf about two thirds done – I started it during winter last year…. I haven’t picked it up since about August last year. Yay me. That looks pretty cool though.

     
  2. FFG

    November 25, 2009 at 10:13 am

    Cute hat! My grandma taught me how to crochet when I was little, but I have never learned how to knit. Maybe one day…

     

Leave a Reply

 
