RSS

Fairy Friends

10 Nov

Girl-child has started to write letters to fairies.  She has made a letter box from paper that is tied to the front gate and every day (since she began on Saturday) she writes letters to the fairies and posts them.  She then checks the letter box at least hourly when she is home, hoping that the letters will be taken by the fairies and that a reply will be left for her.

Now I have to say that one of her letters has been answered by Love Joy the Fairy, courtesy of a letter written by an older friend without her knowledge.  She is anxious to have more correspondence with her fairies.  Her latest letters/cards read as follows;

To Joy Love I love my frens wriing to me Love Boo.  Love Joy Do you have a mum and dad.  I rile wont to know moor ubat you’re famalley

In case you don’t read 6 year old, that translates to

To Love Joy I love my friends writing to me Love Boo.  Love Joy, do you have a mum and dad?  I really want to know more about your family.

The second letter reads

To Love Joy I’m 6 yirs I go to KPS.  Wot scoolsh do you go to.  You will finde ifumashen on the first cad.  Love girl-child

and the translated version

To Love Joy, I’m 6 years old.  I go to KPS (insert school name here).  You will find information on the first card.  Love girl-child

 

Now after finding such a treasures as these cards written to the fairies I am going to manipulate it to serve my own purposes.  you see girl-child climbed out of bed this evening to go and stand on the balcony, amongst her garden, to talk to her friend on her balcony across the road.  She ran back inside quite upset, there were spiders on the balcony.  Now I have a huge irrational and sometimes debilitating fear of spiders myself and I have worked my best to not show this fear to the kids.

I was disappointed annoyed when I saw the spiders that were the cause of her fear.  The big spider was no larger than her littlest fingernail so it was no surprise to to see the other spider was as small as an ant.  She was tired but barely consolable so I think it is time that the fairies come to help me.  I was thinking that the fairies could write to girl-child and let her know that the spiders are living in her garden to keep an eye on her to make sure she is safe.  Now I know that I really shouln’t abuse the power of the fairies but hopefully they will help her deal with her fear of spiders, I would hate for her to be crippled by an irrational fear also.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on November 10, 2009 in the monsters

 

Tags:

5 responses to “Fairy Friends

  1. Ali

    November 10, 2009 at 10:36 pm

    Poor little poppet. I would do the same I have to say. Might as well take what advantages you can!

     
  2. trish

    November 10, 2009 at 11:08 pm

    I’ll write her a fairy letter ..if you like .So sweet to indulge her dreams.
    I just read the spider bit …why not , if it helps her.

     
  3. Susan

    November 11, 2009 at 2:38 am

    Some fairies are known for doing good deeds…it sounds as though you have one like that! Besides, I’m pretty sure that faires think spiders make wonderful pets.

     
  4. Louise

    November 11, 2009 at 10:58 am

    Have you seen Poppy’s fairy door?

     

Leave a Reply

 
